Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

A Rook or Two Minor Pieces?

  • GM Gserper
  • | Sep 30, 2012
  • | 20551 views
  • | 44 comments

I cannot even tell you how many times I had to discuss the subject of ' A Rook vs. Two Minor Pieces' with my students.  Usually it starts in a position like this:


And I face the same problem again: how do I explain that the trade of a Bishop and a Knight for a Rook and a pawn is not that good in this position? 

I know the arguments that I will face very well:

1) Two minor pieces are worth about 6 pawns and so are a Rook and a pawn, so White doesn't lose any material.

2) Black's King gets exposed, so it gives White additional benefits. 

Indeed, what should I tell my students? There is no 'rule of thumb' to follow and besides I remember very well, how I was attracted to this 'combination' in my childhood until my own experience taught me that it is not such a great idea.

I was looking for help from the great chess players, but all I found was:

" I saw it so many times that after one opponent wins two minor pieces for a Rook and a pawn (usually on the 'f7' square), then he either loses a game or makes a draw with great difficulties in an endgame.  The experience shows that in endgames, especially if a passed pawn exists, the player who has a Rook has a better position.  It is a different situation in the complicated middle game. Here it is much easier to create an attack having two minor pieces."  GM Alexander Zaitsev

" In the endgame a Rook is frequently stronger than two minor pieces. It happens when the Rook penetrates into the opponent's camp and wins some material or when there is an opportunity to create a passed pawn." Famous Russian coach IM Mark Dvoretsky

At first sight, it looks like the case is very simple: In the opening and middle game two minor pieces are better and a Rook can be better in the endgame, especially if we use the classical examples that prove the rule:

Black was completely helpless at the end against a well coordinated attack by the White pieces.  His Rook was practically useless there.

It is funny that nine years later, the same opponents played a game where three minor pieces were fighting two Rooks.  The minor pieces won again:


And here is another game from the same epoch:


So, indeed the two minor pieces are better in the middle game and the Rook   can be better in the endgame.  The case is closed, right?

But this is what the great Mikhail Tal says: "I have to confess that it is my favorite sacrifice to give up two minor pieces for a Rook. If an exchange sacrifice can be treated as an admission that a Rook can be weaker than a minor piece, then in this case we have a statement that a Rook is frequently stronger than two minor pieces. This paradox is valid in an endgame too, especially when the Rook fights against a Bishop and a Knight and they are not cooperating very well in that particular situation. This paradox stays true in a middle game, providing that a Rook has an open file (or better yet, files!)."

 And here is the proof from the Magician:

to be continued...


Comments


  • 2 years ago

    CaesarAntolin23

    hmmm

  • 2 years ago

    ChocolateTeapot

    Tal's concept is monumental. But if you analyse the game in detail, you will find that Black defended very poorly. He never tried to thwart his opponent's plans.

  • 2 years ago

    ehlondon

    The only instance where I would lose an endgame with 2 minor pieces to a rook is if there are pawns involved and the pawns are strewn about the board. If I can widdle it down to 1 or 2 pawns for each of us - not disconnected, worse case would be a draw for me.

    Further, I routinely sarcrifice a rook for a well placed knight and pawn in the middle game and almost never think twice about it. In most positions, I can usually grab another pawn or 2 from the initaive gained from an unexpected sacrifice such as that, and a knight + 2 pawns in the endgame vs a rook are odds I'm comfortable with. 

  • 2 years ago

    MrProfit

    Of course the two minor pieces are much better in the middle game because the rooks usually don't play much of a role until the files open. Rooks are often referred to as "clumsy" and since they generally don't get a part in the game until late it favors to avoid this exchange unless you are the one offering the rook. Nevertheless, if the player is fortunate enough to make it into an endgame with the extra rook then it can often be in their favor.

  • 2 years ago

    JJOHANLON

    What about a rook and pawn against two bishops? I would lean, depending on the circumstances towards a rook and a pawn over a knight and a bishop. But what about the rook and pawn against the two bishops? Things are not as clear cut.

  • 2 years ago

    unusualkid

    Nice Article!

  • 2 years ago

    Queen_of_Knight

    I was just in this position yesterday!  A little research (google, lol) told me it's not a good idea.  So I didn't take the pawn.  Thanks for the article.

  • 2 years ago

    Haiku575

    Most GMs can, when you think about it. :)

  • 2 years ago

    F3Knight

    I would say that any combination needs a plan. You have to see something or have an idea of how you're going to make use of whatever advantage you 'think' you have after making any move.  Making moves simply because you know it to be a main line isn't playing chess it's copying people that are better than you without realizing why. 

  • 2 years ago

    LetsReason

    I would think doing so early in the game would give away initiative.  Exposed King, yes, but it also gives your opponent a lead in development.  I would shy away from such a trade until I saw a clear and immediate benefit.

  • 2 years ago

    Eternity_08

    Logics of Tal: "If I can not prove that my sacrifice is wrong why my opponent can prove it? Exactly, no, he can not. Lets sacrifice." Laughing

  • 2 years ago

    Jaylooker

    I believe if white gets enough compensation for the sac, probably in the form of position and initiative, the sacrifice is worth playing. I also believe it will require thinking through many moves and variations ahead to assure the adavnatage is maintanable.

  • 2 years ago

    PiPPoI

    Great article, on a great topic. I guess there is no universal answer as usually.

  • 2 years ago

    JoeTheV

    Depends on whether or not a rook can beat a bishop and knight or two knights, but it would lose to two bishops.

  • 2 years ago

    e2-e4_1-0

    Auron:  If you mean after 25. Rxe7 then if black plays Qxe7, white will respond 26. Bd6 pinning the black queen.

  • 2 years ago

    kcsmith169

    Beautiful game by Tal, thanks!Smile

  • 2 years ago

    Auron_

    Thanks for the article,very interestring.Could you please explain why on the last game black didn't take the rook after 27.Rxe7
    It seems that with
    27.Rxe7 Qxe7
    28.Bd6 Bf6
    29. Bxe7 Bxe7
    black has a fighting chance if he manages to coordinate his pieces.
    I guess I obviously missed something so please elaborate if possible. 

  • 2 years ago

    JohnderriLLL

    Two is always better than one. If you traded off all the peices what would that be like? Now, if u got checkmate for this trade then it would be a diffrent story? Yes. Ive found most trades in chess do not favor the attacker. Except for rook for knight sacs in the dragon.

  • 2 years ago

    IMustThinkMore

    Indeed, a rook is more powerful than either a bishop or a knight, but a knight/bishop combination has cover over more blocks than the rook, making them the more powerful threat in most combinations. However, in "possible-to-open" games, as previewed, the sacrifice is required for a sequential checkmate.

  • 2 years ago

    theprodigy01

    Great

Back to Top

Post your reply: