16585 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
PLEASE SEND ME A MESSAGE WITH THE ANSWER and you have to think outside the box to find this puzzle out. It took me a real long time to find this puzzle out and it is really hard!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
THIS IS ALSO A MATE IN THREE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I'm only 4 years late, but I figure "better late than never." Mate in 3 is possible, and it can be achieved by forcing the black king into a hole and exploiting it. When you first look at the puzzle, something that should be considered is the significance of the black pawn on b5: it achieves nothing from a positional standpoint, but every piece in a puzzle should be assumed significant, and this is no different. It is also important to note that, if the white pieces remain as they are, the black king cannot move, the black pawn on e5 cannot as well, and the black knight is pinned. The only piece that can move for black is the pawn on b5, so this effectively gives white one waiting move before it must give black's king a breathing hole to avoid stalemate. The use of this move will determine the outcome of the puzzle.
Obviously, moving white's b-pawn would produce stalemate and is useless. Moving white's a-pawn also accomplishes nothing in regards to the king. Although it may appear that moving white's king to the black king may eventually lead to checkmate, it is far too slow for this puzzle and will lead to stalemate on move 2. White's f-pawn cannot move, and moving white's g-pawn would needlessly block the bishop and allow black's king to escape on either f4 or f5, both of which make mate in 3 impossible. Therefore, we can assume that white must first move either his rook or either bishop to achieve mate.
Let us first look at what happens when white moves his rook. If white moves his rook off of the d-file, black's king will escape along the d-file and white will not be able to achieve mate in 3 moves. Moving the rook into capture range of the king will also needlessly sacrifice a piece and allow the king to escape, so the only 4 moves that can even be considered for the rook are Rd2, Rd6, Rd7, and Rd8 (all of which will be followed by black with b4). With any of these moves, you must then consider where you will give the black king an airhole on move 2. Moving off of the d-file is still not an option as it will allow the black king to wander. You cannot give up e3 in one move, nor can you give up f5 (because moving the pawn would give the king too much wiggle room). Unpinning the knight will make mate in 3 impossible and will accomplish nothing, and moving the bishop off of the c1-h6 diagonal still will not let you mate on move 3. This is the case for any rook move on move 1, so therefore the rook must not be moved on the first move.
After looking at the white squared bishop for a while, we can quickly determine that it is not the correct piece to move. Capturing the knight will allow the king to wiggle around for longer than 3 moves, and unpinning the knight will accomplish nothing while letting the knight defend the king. Since Bh1 is useless, we can reason that the white squared bishop is also not the piece to move.
Therefore, we must move the black squared bishop on the first move: now, the only question is where. Moving the bishop off of the c1-h6 diagonal would be foolish, because it would allow Kf4 right away which forces the bishop to return to h6 to stop the king from escaping via g5. Obviously, Bf4 is stupid as it allows black to capture with its pawn, so we must look for another move. In order to arrive at the answer, we must think about move 2: we know that wherever we move first will be followed up by b4, but whatever our second move is must allow the king to temporarily escape (probably via f4, given our use of the black squared bishop). If we are to deliver mate on the 3rd move, how will we mate the king on f4? The pawn on f2 already covers e3 and g3, the knight is still stuck on f3, the black pawn is blocking e5, and our pawn is covering f5, but we are going to need to cover e4, g4, and g5 IN ADDITION to delivering the checkmate itself on f4.
Given the prerequisites that we've arrived at in the last section, let us think how we are going to accomplish this with the bishop. If we move the bishop first, but move it off of the diagonal on the second move, how will we simultaneously AND safely attack those 4 squares on move 3. Needless to say, we will need the rook to cover the squares on rank 4. If the bishop is moved on moves 1 and 2, the rook will have to move to d4 to attack those squares. However, this will allow for e5xd4 from black (not to mention that it gives the bishop no time to cover the g5 escape). Therefore, we can assume that the bishop cannot be moved on move 2. However, if the bishop must remain on the c1-h6 diagonal on move 1, and the bishop must not be controlling the f4 square by move 2, how can we avoid a bishop move on move 2?
In order to solve this problem, we have to think of all of the ways that a piece can stop directly controlling a square. Of course, it could move away from that square, but we've already ruled this out. It could be captured, but that will not be happening in this scenario. The final main way a piece can lose control of a square is if it is blocked by a piece, either his own or his enemies. I think it is safe to say that the bishop will not be blocked by black's pieces, so the bishop must be blocked by a white piece. After looking at the position, the only piece that can do the job is the white rook if the bishop is on c1. So, there's our first 2 moves: 1) Bc1, b4; 2) Rd2, Kf4: so, now all we have to do is finish the job. The final move should be pretty obvious now, and the beauty of what was just set up will quickly become apparent. Rd4# is now possible because the bishop is also checking the king, causing a fatal double check. The pawn cannot capture the rook because of the double check, the rook is covering all squares on rank 4, and the bishop is covering the king's escape on g5: magic.
Like I said, I know I'm very late to the party, but I Googled "hardest chess puzzles" and this came up. I saw how people were saying it was impossible to mate in 3, so I looked into it and came up with this. Thanks!
1) Bc1, b4
2) Rd2, Kf4
this is on another one of your blogs
i'll mail it to you but don't tell anyone else
I didn't, because all of the variations I found took longer than three moves to produce mate. Therefore, I assert that there is no solution. Would you like to see the lines I found that don't achieve mate in three moves?
you didn't give me any variations that you think would be right though.
You said you would tell me if I was correct, or how the variation goes if I was wrong. Now you say you won't tell me. Have you changed your mind?
How old is the puzzle? What is the Indian guy's name?
i'm not gonna tell you the answer but this is a very old puzzle from an indian guy
I maintain that there is no mate in three here, and I challenge you to prove me wrong.
I ALLREADY KNOW THE ANSWER DON'T YOU REMEBER
No it is in THREE MOVES, BUT YOU HAVE TO FIND IT
I got the pawns the wrong way? I copied directly from your original diagram, which you have now deleted. You just flipped the board! This is a completely different problem!
It's also not a mate in three either. Were you thinking about 1.Re1 when Black can't recapture? Black still has 1...Kd4 2.Bxf3 Kd3, and Black escapes mate (for now).
White won't be able to force mate for a while. Certainly not in three moves.
Or did I overlook something again?
is that better?
you got the pawns the wrong way!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Read the message I sent you and don't hesitate to ask me if there's something in it you don't understand.
NO, THERE IS A MATE IN THREE AND YOU HAVE TO FIND IT.... that is why it's called THE HARDEST PUZZLE IN THE WORLD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Also, it's mate in 5, not 3.
This hurts my eyes.
hint: it does not start with a king movement because that is too slow.
View complete profile
Marshall Gambit Blog #1
by Bobobobo1234567890 4 years ago
Blog for weaker players- the pin
Blog for weaker players-the Semi Slav
HARDEST PUZZLE EVER
puzzle for master or above or if just want to try it
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2013 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!