11018 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
i was stunned one time during one of my games in the live chess here... when my opponent left with only the king at the end of the game... and guess what, the chess.com declared it a draw due to insufficient materials.... where the hell does that ruling come from?
It could have been some horrible case of lag where you ran out of your last few seconds without realizing it. The game doesn't show us what the final times were on the clocks.
thanks for extracting and displaying that particular game above, i have said it already, none of us timed out, i had over 2 minutes left, and i still have my queen, a bishop and 4 pawns together with the king, while the opponent has still about over 20 seconds left with only the king... when i captured her last bishop, the chess.com declared it a draw... how come? i just get confused and wondering if that is the new ruling of chess.com now... i kinda get scared for a little while, but i guess its not, maybe there was just indeed a temporary hiccup in the server as what suggested by RetGuvvie98... thanks guys :)
i still had lot of times on this game and so with the opponent, he also still had a lot of time, it was just then when i captured his last pawn, the chess.com declared it a draw due to insufficient material....
Interrobang is incorrect in the way he stated the rule. so is candleintherain.
if the person with only a king left times out, that person gets a loss.
if the person with lots of pieces times out, and the opponent has only a king left, the person with the king gets a draw.
if the person with a king and pawn is still able to move, and the person with, for instance, a king, queen and four pawns times out, the one with just the king and pawn will be given a win.
IT APPEARS that you had sufficient material to checkmate your opponent. One might presume that you ran out of time. Additionally, one would logically conclude that the reason black did not win due to your running out of time was: black had insufficient material remaining to checkmate you.
however, yesterday, I experienced premove failure to follow the moves out, and later, it did work right, so I presumed that was just a temporary 'hiccup' in the server and nothing serious.
one would need to observe this happening again in a game to conclude it is not just a 'one-time-occurrence/aberration', and shrug it off.
you will readily win more games, I'm sure.
Here we go: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Draw_%28chess%29#Draws_in_timed_games
Check the second bullet point.
Not if you are just losing and down a lot of pieces, but actually if you have insufficient material to mate your opponent. Flip it around: say you time out against someone who has been reduced to a lone king on the board. Does that mean you lose, even if there's no way they could possibly win? It shouldn't, should it?
So did you time out, egrocs40?
Ah.. so if I am loosing and down alot of pieces, I can time out and still draw? That's great to know! ;/ Thanks, chess.com!
Here is the game, and the final position:
It took me a while to figure out, because I don't play live chess, but one of the rules in the help section is: "In cases where the opponent has insufficient material to mate (lone King, King + Knight, King + Bishop, King + 2 Knights) a draw will be automatically declared where there is a time-out." http://support.chess.com/Knowledgebase/Article/View/40/0/how-do-i-claim-a-draw-in-live-chess
If either of you had timed out, that would be an important detail to mention. Did you notice?
it was not a stalemate, and i had more than sufficient pieces to defeat the opponent... i still had my queen, one bishop and about 5 pawns together with my king.... how could that become a draw?
View complete profile
stunned with some of chess.com rules
by egrocs40 3 years ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2014 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!