Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

En passant

  • Last updated on 2/9/14, 11:12 AM.

  • Send to friend
  • | 823 reads
  • | 146 comments

En passant (from French: "in passing") is a maneuver in chess which is performed after a player moves a pawn two squares forward from its starting position, and an opposing pawn captures it as if it had only moved one square. En passant may only be played immediately after a two-square square pawn advance, or the right to capture "in passing" is lost.

After pawns were granted the ability to move two squares on their first move, the En passant rule was introduced in 1490 to prevent pawns from having too much power or freedom.

Here is an example:

 In the second diagram, White can NOT capture en passant:

White can not take here though:
En passant captures are use in chess composition. Many Retrograde analysis problems utilize this fancy captures.
 
Black could only have moved c7-c5 last move, allowing 1.bxc6 e.p.# 

Comments


  • 3 years ago · Quote · #101

    chessgenius2014

    For some reason en passant can be either helpful or harmful.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #102

    JWatttheDuece

    my friend always tried to explain this to me..still never got it...read two lines on this and i got it...Awesome

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #103

    jmgchess11

    I have been trying to find a reference for a while. My friend thought i was making it up but now i have proof.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #104

    dipenshah

    It's a very nice and perfect rule for chess.........

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #105

    xtremedes

    a couple of years back when my opponent did en passant against me, i thought he cheated. then he explained to me what en passant is :D
  • 3 years ago · Quote · #106

    corewhynot

    I was told that en passant can only be used once per game. Is this true?

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #107

    Ineedphenylalanine

    En passant is the least well-known chess rule; I hope one day every chess player willl know it.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #108

    D_Vinz

    I have seen this move a few times when i play chess in my phone

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #109

    karthic87

    Its one of the peculiar and interesting moves in the game of chess :) I love it !

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #110

    mohawkredrose

    I thought I knew all of the rules of Chess, until I saw this! AWESOME

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #111

    edleeper

    I'm not sure I understand the confusion.  It is simply a rule of the game,, and has been so for over 500 years.  No great secret,, just uninformed players.  As to fairness,, it's as fair as the pawn's ability to move two squares,, and a reasonable defense for the opponent against just that.

    Chess is an enjoyable game,,, but if one chooses to play,, it behooves him to learn the rules.

  • 22 months ago · Quote · #112

    xavixavi

    As I have read here, I though it was an android's chess.com app bug when playing against computer. In fact, I suffered it many times and finally searched of it. I'm surprised to have kept this movement unknown until today, since I have been playing chess since I was a child! Laughing

  • 20 months ago · Quote · #113

    pigchess1

    y the last 1 just the image u get from making the diagram?

  • 20 months ago · Quote · #114

    Gangnam__Style

    i've actually induced en passant on myself as a strategy to gain positional advantage.  I wish I could say I've done it on more that one occasion, but this situation has presented itself only once.

  • 17 months ago · Quote · #115

    NishantZeus

    1 time i lost my queen because the other guy did en passant. i didnt even know what it meant. ever since then i always ask the player to not play enpassant and neither do i.

  • 16 months ago · Quote · #116

    snakerhunter

    Have used it quite often. One of my favorite plays on the board.Cool

  • 13 months ago · Quote · #117

    aleenabinoy40

    soo nice move,never heard about it.but its a really nice move

  • 13 months ago · Quote · #118

    aleenabinoy40

    Smile

  • 13 months ago · Quote · #119

    snakerhunter

    corewhynot wrote:

    I was told that en passant can only be used once per game. Is this true? No it can be used as often as there are PAWNS that have not been used previously.The same pawn cannot be used twice

  • 13 months ago · Quote · #120

    snakerhunter

    iliosis wrote:

    Someone called me a cheater for doing this...;]

    Even though they thought they knew the game,,,they didn't

Back to Top

Post your reply: