Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

To hold your oppponent

  • Last updated on 3/8/14, 5:59 PM.

  • Send to friend
  • | 0 reads
  • | 12 comments


Blah Bleh

Comments


  • 2 years ago · Quote · #1

    lion060751

    I'm not good enough yet to make such a calculation I think.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #2

    sajay

    why he accepted a draw ? Wink

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #3

    fwhoberg

    There is a new rule brought in by FIDE if your got 2min you may clame for draw if : Your opponent has mating material on the broad or if he can not mate you with the material that he has on the broad. So after Ke7 K5g say Ba1 my Bishop stil covers h8 the king can not come close to help out his pwan.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #4

    fwhoberg

    I 16min left so if my clock got to 2min I would have clamed a draw anyway.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #5

    sajay

    i see. But that could generate few disputes
  • 2 years ago · Quote · #6

    fwhoberg

    yes that is true.

  • 15 months ago · Quote · #7

    nahtanoj23

    This is such a draw it is sad.

  • 14 months ago · Quote · #8

    BSA

    I must be missing something extremely obvious...

    Why not 60...Kxc3 ?

  • 14 months ago · Quote · #9

    fwhoberg

    The game posted by nathanoj123 is not the origelnal game we played in the tornament look at the game at the top.

  • 14 months ago · Quote · #10

    Martin0

    Different colored bishops is usually a draw with equally many pawns. 1 pawn advantage is usually also a draw, while 2 pawn advantage is quite often more unclear and could either be a win or draw. In this case after 34...Bxe3+ it is a dead draw.

    Whites pawn on b5 alone is blocking blacks pawns on the queenside, so blacks extra pawn on the queenside is worthless, so I count it as no pawn advantage (a dead draw). However later black played 38...Ke5 which was a blunder.

    After this black need to play for a draw since he looses a pawn to 39.Bxg6. Black is a pawn behind since whites extra pawn on the kingside can advance and isn't worthless while blacks extra pawn on the kingside practically is worthless. Also the pawn on h5 is under attack, so he needs to do something about that. Black played 39...Kd4 which was not the right approach.

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    White practically wins a pawn after 40.Bxh5 Kxc4 Be8. The reasoning behind this is the same as with when black had one extra pawn on the queenside. The white pawn on b5 is blocking all blacks pawns on the queenside making his 2 extra pawns there worthless. White is practically 2 pawns up. 2 pawns is enough to win in this case since it is 2 connected pawns. In the game white played 39.Be7 instead and traded one of his potential connected passed pawns and got a draw. Even if white didn't play correct it's not an excuse for black to give him an opportunity to win. Instead of 39...Kd4 black should have played something else.

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    Black had to try 39...h4 instead which I believe will lead to a draw. If white captures with 40.gxh4 he is practically only one pawn ahead since one of whites doubled pawns is worthless and that should be not too hard to draw.

     

     
  • 4 months ago · Quote · #11

    Taradhron

    BSA wrote: I must be missing something extremely obvious... Why not 60...Kxc3 ? Yeah, I thought 60.Kxc3 would be a win for White, as black would have no way to prevent 61.h8=Q What are we missing?
  • 4 months ago · Quote · #12

    Martin0

    @Taradhron, 60.Kxc3 in nahtanoj23's line is indeed a win for white. He just tried to show why it should be a draw in the final position which ends after 56...Ke7 and accidentally included a blunder. All black needs to do to easily draw there is to prevent the white king to get to the d5, e6 or f7 square and keep his bishop on the long diagonal (and to not blunder the bishop). One easy method is to just walk with his king between d6 and e7 when he needs to cover a square for whites king and at all other moves he can just "pass" by moving the bishop along the diagonal.

Back to Top

Post your reply: