Forums

Good beginner video playlist?

Sort:
Goob63

Beginner as in around 1000 rating. I know how to play, develop properly. I just feel like I missed something somewhere, and am having trouble getting better.

Not looking for anything on this site, since I only have the free membership so it wont let me watch any of it anyway

RaleighRaine

I would suggest that if you haven't already, you should decide on which openings you want to play. As a beginner I don't think openings are too critical, and you shouldn't spend hours and hours necessarily studying them, but watching videos on the basic principals of the opening(s) should help you.

I'd highly suggest you check out the chesswebsite's Youtube channel. They have lots of videos covering openings as well as videos on chess strategy and endgames.

Hope this helps!

-Raleigh

TheGreatOogieBoogie

GM Secrets by Igor Smirnov.  It costs money though and is his entry level course.  You can't understand his other material without it.  Also, be sure you take the practical part seriously and follow the instructions. 

cortman

There are countless tremendously good videos on this site Goob63- it may be worth $14 for a month of diamond membership to get at them. They have helped me a lot!

Goob63

I just don't have the money right now to put on chess. And I have my openings I've been playing. Enough so that I changed them because the style just wasn't working for me. Changed from e4 to d4/c4. And I have my defenses I play

TheGreatOogieBoogie

Okay, if you don't have any money then Chesslab is a good place to download some games to practice your thinking process.  Just copy a list of games according to set parameters, such as 2300+ in a certain opening you're looking up (and some traps where the Englund Gambit or Grob player lost or whatever for good measure) and try predicting the moves of the player you're studying.