Forums

looking to buy a chess set

Sort:
AdamLegge

Anyone know where to look to buy a chess set online? I'd like to replace my old 12 inch dinkie one.

I'd like staunton, larger the better. Wooden prefereably. Simple as possible.

Andddddddddddd.... under $100???

I'm relatively new to chess so I don't really even know if this is reasonable. Comments?

dwaxe

Wooden Staunton chess set. Search that on Google. Here's some stuff.

BraRoeChess

You also look here for some advice.

Bradford - Chess Sets

z0anthr0pe

I personally like the simple plastic tournament sets.  A good size is a king of 3.75".  It's easier to see and use.  The down side is they usually come with fold up vinyl mat boards.  They are usually cheap too eg. about $40 new.  I wouldn't bother with expensive theme sets eg. Lord of the rings etc.  The pieces can be weird.  It's hard enough playing well without having to figure out if that was a bishop or rook they moved  Wink

SmokeJS

I prefer the classic look of House of Staunton chess sets. Their higher end plastic sets, while not inexpensive, are great value, look terrific, weigh a ton and will last several lifetimes. Teamed with a rollup vinyl board in traditional green and cream they are the ultimate set to take to the local chess club where anything wooden will likely garner a few snickers. I own the Collector pieces and I'm always astounded by how good they look. Purchased from The Chess House. The only problem for us Canadians is the shipping costs tend to be quite high but I know of no other way for us to get this equipment short of going to the States.

Upscale from that are House of Staunton wooden sets and fancy boards where the sky's the limit when it comes to pricing.

greekgeek

Go to the Chess House and download their free buying guide.  It's worth the 15 seconds!

http://www.chesshouse.com/

skymaster