Forums

1.e4 c5 2.Nf3 Qc7

Sort:
AKJett

Opinions??

NeuroMind

I'm no chess expert by any means...but it seems like a reasonable opening to me, perhaps a sicilian hybrid? 

VULPES_VULPES

Can Pfren comment on this?

InfiniteFlash

doesn't white just play 3.c3 and play d4 next move?

AKJett

1.e4 c5 2.Nf3 Qc7 3.c3 Nf6 =

InfiniteFlash

Roeczak wrote:

1.e4 c5 2.Nf3 Qc7 3.c3 Nf6 =

after 3..nf6 4.e5 Nd5 5.d4, where the Qc7 move doesn't appear to be obviously useful. tbh, i think white is a bit better, the Qc7 move compared to the normal nc6 (mainline alapin), seems to be not as effective.

It's not even this setup that seems a bit suspicious, I am sure that white has some closed sicilian setups in which the Qc7 move is not so useful in. 

SmyslovFan

I agree completely, pfren! This seems like another gambit idea for experienced Black players. If white tries to "punish" Black, it backfires. Otherwise, Black can probably gain a few minutes on the clock with his unusual move order.

The best way to really take advantage of the move order may be to aim for a Maroczy bind set up or simply play 3.c3. The problem with 3.c3 is that Black gets a playable game with 3...d6 4.d4 Nf6 5.Bd3 g6, as Polgar played against Smyslov. She won that game.

The Black Q often goes to c7 in the Sicilian. It may not be optimally placed there in Maroczy lines as in the game below.

Here, the game resembles a sort of King's Indian where the Black Q definitely was misplaced.

SmyslovFan

Yeah, Jempty, you could reach the game position via the same move order. It probably most closely resembles a Semi-Benoni structure where Black has wasted a move with Qc7.

I don't know why Pfren consideres 3.c3 to be objectively better than 3.c4. They both give white a very comfortable advantage. I personally prefer 3.c4 because I think it's easier to show that Blacks' Q is misplaced in those lines. But I'm not claiming an objective advantage for 3.c4 over 3.c3.