Forums

Do you think the Budapest Gambit is better than the Sicilian for club level?

Sort:
Dolphin27

Did you just use a racial slur?

Also you say you prefer classical as opposed to fast chess yet you've played 4,000 blitz and bullet games here and barely any standard.

And yes, we know you used to use the Budapest and gave it up, you've wrote that several times, we get it. You blame your losses on openings and stop using them. I'm the opposite and never blame my failues on the opening. All the openings I decided to use when I started playing I'm still using now.

WittyBlunder

Sure why not if you are an aggressive player will be at home.

najdorf96

Heh. Despite agreeing with Mash, on certain points in your "conversation"...for the most part, you're right, Dolphin. The Opening used is ultimately not the reason one loses an game. In fact, till this day, I'm scared of facing the Budapest. Even though I haven't faced it in 20+ yrs (OF COURSE, heh, I play specific move orders to avoid it and others. The Benko Counter-gambit, being another one!)

But as you've since elaborated on your original post, I would say most definitely the Sicilian is great at any level. But employing the Budapest at club level, especially if you're an devotee, is probably more sucessful.

ozzie_c_cobblepot

I find myself agreeing that being known as the Budapest Player™ will hinder your chess the higher you go. I believe that people often gravitate towards this opening because it drastically reduces the amount of positions you must learn. But the opposite is also true. If you are the Budapest Player™, then people who play you know exactly how to prepare. And the higher you get, like if you're the lone Master in your region, then all of the people 100-200 points below you will actually spend time preparing just for that. Maybe you'll still win the games, but in that scenario you would have already lost the opening preparation battle.

JGambit