Forums

How good is the Kings Indian for beginners?

Sort:
StevenBailey13

Hi, I am a beginner whose rating is 1276 and I play the  KID exclusively against 1.d4  and has had good sucess with it ( check out my win vs Angelo111 today- who is 100 points higher than me... Just sayin')  I am familiar with common themes and enjoy the positions I get but have heard that the opening is too sharp and complex for beginners, is this true? And if so , what openings do you suggest vs 1.d4?

Thanks

Oraoradeki

I'd say stick with KID.

You can play this opening against 1. c4, 1.Nf3, 1. g3 as well.

StevenBailey13
Tacticator wrote:

I'd say stick with KID.

True and it's hard to stop balck playing it. Also, I figured the king of guy who plays 1.d4 or 1.c4 probably doesn't want a KID type game. Maybe I'm wrong, I don't know

isaacthebird

I love the KID.

ViktorHNielsen

1.. d5 is more logical, instead of giving away the centre. Logical = better understanding of chess in the long run.

But chess is a game, and a game has to be fun.

StevenBailey13
isaacthebird wrote:

I love the KID.

How long have you played it ?

waffllemaster

I find the KID confusing.  Structures/plans you think wouldn't really work end up working due to concrete play (you're checkmating, or the tactics work for you or something seemingly magical).

TheProfessor wrote:

( check out my win vs Angelo111 today- who is 100 points higher than me... Just sayin')

So long as your opponents are playing moves like 10.f4 (strategic self destruct) and 21.h4 (gives up a piece) then you can play whatever openings you like.

TheProfessor wrote:

what openings do you suggest vs 1.d4?

1...d5.  Queen's gambit or slav.

PIRATCH
ViktorHNielsen wrote:

1.. d5 is more logical, instead of giving away the centre. Logical = better understanding of chess in the long run.

But chess is a game, and a game has to be fun.