15462 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
Hello i just saw a chess.com video on the stonewall and i thought it was interesting one of them said that you could get into it with french and f4 and stuff but it didnt say anything about the caro kann this is the setup
as you can see the caro kann has c6 and d5
whitch are 2 main moves in the stonewall setup
whenever i try this caro kann to stonewall for black i lose though can somone tell me if my theory is correct if both players play the opening correctly im also thinking about doing this for white
can someone tell me if thats good or bad and show a way to do it or something thanks
It seems unlikely. 1.e4 c6 2.d4 d5 is no longer a Stonewall. White played e4, so there is no point in entering it. Possible is 1.d4 d5 2.c4 c6 and later you may enter the Stonewall via the Slav.
There is no way to go from a Caro Kann or even a French to a Stonewall.....
In those openings, white has played e4 and f5 is controlled. The whole idea behind the stonewall is to restrict e4. The Stonewall can only be played against d4. It is also possible to play it against Nf3 or c4 but it is considered risky due to certain dangerous tries like 1.Nf3 f5 2.d3....
You can't enter Stonewall from Caro Kan or French.It's not playable against 1.e4.
It's only playable against 1.d4
Probably the video meant you play it like 1.d4 e6 to avoid the complications of 1.d4 f5 2.e4 and such.
However if white is happy to enter the French with 1.d4 e6 2.e4 you need to know that as well.
I played the French and I don't even bother with this move order when I play the Dutch.
hmm ok i play caro kann regularly then but if they do d4 then i'll do the stone
You're going to have to show how you do that, because normally, it isn't possible. That's unless you're actually playing a Slav.
There is no possible transposition to Stonewall after white's 1.e4
Playing f5 at any point after that doesn't mean it's Stonewall AND IT IS VERY BAD.
can you get stonewall as white if you cant as black if you dont try caro kann and do f4
Stonewall as white is possible after 1.f4 d5 or 1.d4 d5 .You can't have Stonewall if your opponent doesn't play ...d5(more accurately , you can have a a bad meaningless Stonewall if your opponent doesn't play ...d5)
"Death Match 26! GM Irina Krush vs. GM Nadezhda Kosintseva-hosted by IM Danny Rensch & GM Robert Hess!"
Hey! what's this ...!?!
by Mahaaveera a few minutes ago
Does fate (or destiny) plays significant role in the success of Carlsen?
by btickler a few minutes ago
That was naughty
by Mahaaveera 6 minutes ago
I Don't See the Point of the Touch-Move Rule
by RonaldJosephCote 8 minutes ago
beware of this member
by johnmusacha 11 minutes ago
7/26/2014 - Saonina-Tjekova 1980
by biat 11 minutes ago
Common rating plateaus
by btickler 12 minutes ago
New Idea in the Morra
by RybkaShredder 13 minutes ago
White versus Black Percentage of Wins
by ohpunky81 18 minutes ago
How to play the QGA?
by VULPES_VULPES 19 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2014 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!