9623 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
In the Nimzo-Indian defense (1. d4 Nf6 2. c4 e6 3. Nc3 Bb4), black intends to surrender the bishop pair with an eventual Bxc3, possibly inflicting white with doubled pawns. Deviating from this plan midway can be fatal, as one of my opponents found out. Coincidentally, this was both my best-rated win and shortest game ever:
Very good players. I've played hundreds or more in the nimzo and usually play A3 in the classical and have never seen black not take on C3.
Black could have gone c5 instead of 0-0
I dont see how a 2300+ player could make such a mistake/blunder. It appears he is resigning all of his games.... something smells bad here ......
Yeah, it's definitely suspicious, but I was willing to give him the benefit of the doubt. I thought he might have been overexhausted, made a stupid mistake, and then realized that now would be a good time to take a break from chess. After all, this game was the first one he folded, and the rest were folded several hours later on. I don't really see how this would fit the profile of a cheater...
Though it may be a blunder, resigning seems premature... Based on the position, I'd let the bishop hang (which would weaken Whites Queenside pawn structure, and lose tempo) and attempt a kingside attack with tempo. It's a longshot, but entirely possible to generate some counter play on White's kingside due to White's lost tempo and undeveloped kingside.
One mistake could quickly even the score in such a game.
Um, no. Black loses a piece for no compensation - to a trap well-known for hundreds of years which he voluntarily walks into. That's just a loss. Hope is not a strategy.
On a more general note i have often seen good players arguing that giving up the bishop pair is not really forced in the nimzo, and that a good repertoire can be assembled with some GM-approved lines where black hardly ever takes on c3. That said the way your opponent choose to avoid the trade is definitely not appealing :)
A pawn down maybe...
haha ok. I'm sure you resign as soon as you're more than a pawn down, or blunder a minor piece. I'm sure that's what you do... wink wink.
PS It feels good to win, but nothing feels better than coming back to win a completely lost game.
7/14/2014 - Mate in 2
by Andique a few minutes ago
Name of Opening ?
by baddogno a few minutes ago
Players disconnecting midgame need to be flagged
by mrhjornevik 3 minutes ago
Wooden Chess Sets in India
by Jack_Burton 5 minutes ago
by 27052003 11 minutes ago
Who is NM jerry "Chessnetwork" ?
by Scottrf 16 minutes ago
by Disgruntled_Sheep 21 minutes ago
en passant étiquette when opponent doesn't know about the rule
by nobodyreally 21 minutes ago
Button for toggling chat on/off from all future games
by days77 33 minutes ago
Top 10 Chess Books to Own
by jarrasch 48 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2014 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!