Forums

smith-mora gambit

Sort:
Morris_W3

I have been playing chess for about 50 yrs (off and on) and since I've been on Chess.com (about 1 1/2 yrs now) I've "stumbled" on a rather courious opening called the Smith-Mora gambit (1.e4 c5  2.d4 cxd 3.c3 dxc 4. Nxc) I have had pretty good success with it and I was just wondering if anyone else was familiar with it and what their opinion was of it

DrSpudnik

Poor players usually take the bait, but most higher level players tend to avoid it and head for the 2. c3 Sicilian transposition by playing 3...Nf6

chopwood

Before anyone dismisses the Morra, they should see Hannes Langrock's book, " The Modern Morra Gambit: A Dynamic Weapon Against the Sicilian". There's a minefield for black because of white's relentless development. The knight sac on d5 is an ever-present threat. All in all, I know when someone plays 3...c3, I take on principle, and know I'm in for a slug-fest.

Morris_W3

Most of the people I've used it against will take the gambit....if you're quick to get your rooks on the open files then I've found my chances of winning are around 60%.  I usually play the French defense against e4 so I can't really comment from the opposite side of the fence, but as far as the Smith-Mora goes...I love it!  Very good point chopwood - it does seem most of white's advantage comes from the superior development.  Thanks everyone for your comments!  Most helpful (one of the things I love about Chess.com)!

trigs

the smith what? :P

if you want dubious, play the sicilian wing gambit (1. e4 c5 2. b4?). a lot of low level sicilian players never knew what hit them.

DrSpudnik

Don't get me wrong. I used to play the SMG and had quite a few exciting games, mostly wins. But after I started playing A-Players & Experts, I found very few would take the bait. I even tried to learn the c3 (Alapin) Sicilian to hone the SMG declined skills, but I didn't like it too much.

Morris_W3