Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

Why can I not move the queen before I move the pawn?


  • 2 years ago · Quote · #1

    Frillz93

    I was trying to kill the back queen in my first move as white, but I could not move her. Do I have to move her somewhere else first?

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #2

    Tom

    I don't understand what the heck you're trying to say.  Do you know the rules of chess?  The queen cannot jump pieces like the knight, and it's impossible to capture a piece on your first move.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #3

    Twpsyn

    You can:



  • 2 years ago · Quote · #4

    Hydra

    @Frillz93,

    If i understand correctly you are trying to move your queen out on the first move, that is not possible, sorry, here is the link to the rules of chess, enjoy:

    http://www.chess.com/learn-how-to-play-chess.html

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #5

    Scottrf

    This would be a good opening. 1. xd8.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #6

    AlCzervik

    You must first move the j-pawn.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #7

    ChessisGood

    Look at his games. He knows something, if not a lot, about chess. I expect he is having much more trouble with English, as his post makes very little since.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #8

    uziboy

    only knights can jump over other pieces.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #9

    EpicBlunder03

    My guess is that he wants to play a game without the queen (Handicap Chess). Looking at his games, he certainly knows the rules of chess.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #10

    CerebralAssassin

    here's an opening I play all the time



  • 2 years ago · Quote · #11

    Frillz93

    CerebralAssassin wrote:

    here's an opening I play all the time

     



    im trying to that but I can´t, is there lika a secret button to do this.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #12

    Hydra

    Frillz93 wrote:
    CerebralAssassin wrote:

    here's an opening I play all the time

     



    im trying to that but I can´t, is there lika a secret button to do this.

    @Frillz93

    He made that puzzle as a joke, it is not possible to do that in a game of chess, i have given you the link to the rules.

    Regards

    Hydra

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #13

    giratina999

    [COMMENT DELETED]
  • 2 years ago · Quote · #14

    PLAVIN79

    I AGREE WITH HYDRA ITIS IMPOSIBLE T0 MOVE THE QUEEN ON THE CryFIRST MOVE

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #15

    waffllemaster

    Frillz93 wrote:

    im trying to that but I can´t, is there lika a secret button to do this.

    No, there no button.  But isntead of entering the moves manually, you use PGN notation.

    For example when you go to insert a diagram select the 2nd option "Game or sequence of moves"   Then the last option "Use a PGN file"

    Instead of a file, input the moves you want there, e.g. here's what happens if you type 1.exe8

     

    Lets say you have a real PGN file like this one I got from chessgames.com:

    [Event "Cap dAgde Chess Festival"]
    [Site "Cap d'Agde FRA"]
    [Date "2002.10.25"]
    [EventDate "2002.10.24"]
    [Round "4"]
    [Result "0-1"]
    [White "Mikhail Gurevich"]
    [Black "Boris Gelfand"]
    [ECO "A13"]
    [WhiteElo "2634"]
    [BlackElo "2704"]
    [PlyCount "62"]
    
    1. c4 e6 2. Nf3 d5 3. d4 Nf6 4. e3 c5 5. dxc5 Bxc5 6. a3 O-O
    7. Nbd2 a5 8. Be2 Nc6 9. O-O Qe7 10. b3 d4 11. exd4 Nxd4
    12. Bb2 Nxe2+ 13. Qxe2 b6 14. Ng5 Bb7 15. Nde4 Nxe4 16. Nxe4
    Bxe4 17. Qxe4 Rad8 18. a4 Rd7 19. Rad1 Rfd8 20. Qg4 Bxf2+
    21. Kh1 f5 22. Qe2 Bc5 23. Rxd7 Qxd7 24. h3 h6 25. Re1 Kh7
    26. Qe5 Qf7 27. Qe2 f4 28. Qg4 g5 29. Rxe6 Qxe6 30. Qxe6 Rd1+
    31. Kh2 Bg1+ 0-1
    

    Enter the game notation but leave out the first move

    e6 2. Nf3 d5 3. d4 Nf6 4. e3 c5 5. dxc5 Bxc5 6. a3 O-O 7. Nbd2 a5 8. Be2 Nc6 9. O-O Qe7 10. b3 d4 11. exd4 Nxd4 12. Bb2 Nxe2+ 13. Qxe2 b6 14. Ng5 Bb7 15. Nde4 Nxe4 16. Nxe4 Bxe4 17. Qxe4 Rad8 18. a4 Rd7 19. Rad1 Rfd8 20. Qg4 Bxf2+ 21. Kh1 f5 22. Qe2 Bc5 23. Rxd7 Qxd7 24. h3 h6 25. Re1 Kh7 26. Qe5 Qf7 27. Qe2 f4 28. Qg4 g5 29. Rxe6 Qxe6 30. Qxe6 Rd1+ 31. Kh2 Bg1+ 0-1

    And this is the result





  • 2 years ago · Quote · #16

    AlCzervik

    snakesbelly wrote:
    TMIMITW wrote:

    You must first move the j-pawn.

    The only problem with that is that you get minus Q on your clock if you move the j pawn first as white and you are playing OTB ,I suppose that is why few people play it. Is the rule the same in the northern hemisphere though?

    The rule is similar, but us Northerners have a Z on our clocks. There is no minus Z, so it works for us. And, it moves in a different direction.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #17

    chesse_chames

    Frillz93 wrote:

    I was trying to kill the back queen in my first move as white, but I could not move her. Do I have to move her somewhere else first?

    I thought the chess.com handbook (you know, the one they send you when you register an account - with all the scratch 'n' sniff stickers, and coupons and stuff) made it very clear: you may not move your Queen on the first move unless you roll a three or an eleven.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #18

    Frillz93

    chesse_chames wrote:
    Frillz93 wrote:

    I was trying to kill the back queen in my first move as white, but I could not move her. Do I have to move her somewhere else first?

    I thought the chess.com handbook (you know, the one they send you when you register an account - with all the scratch 'n' sniff stickers, and coupons and stuff) made it very clear: you may not move your Queen on the first move unless you roll a three or an eleven.

    What? I don't think i got any

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #19

    stanhope13

    pointless post

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #20

    SandyJames


Back to Top

Post your reply: