Forums

Chess Coaching best practices

Sort:
alex_villasana

It is sad when coaches/parents put so much pressure on their chess players - specially at the scholastic level - that the kids stop enjoying this great sport of ours.

I am a chess coach, and I am looking for advice to improve and be sure that I do not fall into that temptation. I now subscribe to the Double Goal Coaching philosophy championed by the Positive Coaching Alliance. But, I would like to ask all the coaches out there for a piece of advice. What is, according to your experiece, some of chess coaching best practices?

Thank you so very much for your help!

trysts

"What is, according to your experience, some of chess coaching best practices?"

Buying clothes and dinner for the "pupil"Laughing

alex_villasana

That is funny and, believe it or not, I have dome some of that! It was pizza, but the kids really enjoyed it.

trysts

If you throw in some wine, then I think I may need a coachLaughing

Archaic71

If you have a really hot assistant coach, I may need some help with my game also.

Shivsky

Sharing a few part-time experiences I had teaching beginners/novices at the scholastic level.

1. The minute they stop having fun, the lesson's over.

2. Owing to 1) => you have to make activities like studying/puzzles/analysis entertaining enough.

3. Try not to get too "buddy" with them either.  If they don't respect you, they are less likely to listen.

With most kids who "like" chess,  almost anything OTB and challenging will be fun to begin with ... but with those who are lazy and cut corners when it comes to work, you have to cleverly find incentives, both with words or micro-rewards like certificates or promises of "no homework if you can solve this" etc.

Andre_Harding

I will give a serious answer.

Some pillars of my teaching include:

Beginners need to start with 1.e4 for White, and with Black to respond with 1.e4 e5 and 1.d4 d5.