Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

The Best Player Never to Become World Champion?

  • 5 months ago · Quote · #521


    Fresh_from_the_Oven wrote:
    payshisdebt wrote:

    Kramnik, lol, it is obvious Victor Korchnio

    The Pride of Italy.

    korchnoi and Italy relation?

  • 5 months ago · Quote · #522


    I think that may have been a reference to the spelling.

  • 5 months ago · Quote · #523


    Or the misspelling rather.

  • 5 months ago · Quote · #524



  • 5 months ago · Quote · #525


    varelse1 wrote:
    shockinn wrote:
    SmyslovFan wrote:



    One of my favorite players from that time was Jon Speelman.

    If you spent less time in chess history and more on the actual game you might have reached a good level in chess.

    Kiss my butt.

    Chess history rocks!

    (And now that you mention it, are you really comparing your rating to Smyslovfans?)

    I'm not so insecure that i'd look at someone's rating to give him my advice. And since you're convinced that my rating is really my rating then I'd ask you to look at my games. Even someone as ignorant as you wont be able to miss the fact that I only ever use one opening.

    I'm not passionate about chess and thats why havent bothered to improve myself. But this smyslov fan seems to be passionate about the game and thats why my advice.

    You are though admittedly a priceless vagaband of the forum.

  • 5 months ago · Quote · #526


    Akiba Rubinstein

  • 5 months ago · Quote · #527


    payshisdebt wrote:

    Kramnik, lol, it is obvious Victor Korchnio

    But Kramnik was world champion.  He not only defeated Kasparov for the title (I think it's one of history's greatest upsets, I was going to do a thread on that actually with Euwe defeating Alekhine, Tal defeating Botvinnik and Steinitz successfully defending his title against Chigorin being candidates for biggest upsets in history) but defended his title against Topalov, who blew away the competition at San Luis 2005. 


    As for my answer it's hard to say, but Chigorin, Rubinstein, Keres, Korchnoi, and Caruana are very strong candidates. 

  • 5 months ago · Quote · #528


    Oogie I agree with your selections - there are many great players who could potentially have become world champion. It only just ocurred to me, but maybe Bent Larsen should be on that list too.

  • 5 months ago · Quote · #529


    Caruana doesn't count for the same reasons that Carlsen didn't count two years ago :)

    Bent Larsen himself has said that there were simply better players than him at the time he was trying to become champion. Not sure if that rules him out though. But it seems he wouldn't consider himself :-/

    I still think Tarrash is a good bet. He was very, very strong at his prime.

Back to Top

Post your reply: