11304 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
One of the tournaments I'm running had a pair of players agree to draw both of their games on move 2. Is this a violation of any chess.com rules? One of the other players in the tournament brought it to my attention.
Don't go looking up the tournament to name players though, that potentially breaks the naming and shaming rule. I'm just interested in your thoughts on it. If it's thought to be a violation, I'll handle the reporting.
When I played over the board USCF about40 years ago there were times in a 5 round tournament that my friend and I would score 4 straight wins and then be paired against each other and then usually draw but we had no agreement--we just did not try very hard to win.
There was one time this senario did not work as I lost a game and after 4 rounds--my friend had 4-0 and I had 3-1 and was paired with him. I had black pieces. Before the game he was hoping for a friendly draw but I told him I was playing for a win. This upset him but we played and I won and thu there was a 3 way tie for first place with scores of 4-1.
We never agreed to a very early draw.
It may not be cheating, but it sure is a crappy way to advance thru a tournament. I mean, what's the point?
There's always Sofia rules.
In my last tournament I had a draw in 7 moves, we had more time on our clocks than we started with due to the 30 second increment. I hadn't been playing well and we were in a sharp line, and my higher rated opponent offered a draw: I couldn't find a reason to decline.
Can anyone come up with a chess puzzle where you have to promote to a bishop
by GM_Phrostbyte a few minutes ago
12/15/2014 - Corner Pocket
by ngm01301 a few minutes ago
12/25/2014 - Mate in 5
by ps_nath a few minutes ago
what's the main difference between a 1300 and a 1800 player?
by eastyz 2 minutes ago
I love chess.com!
by Tom_064 6 minutes ago
remove friends !
by GM_Phrostbyte 7 minutes ago
by GM_Phrostbyte 8 minutes ago
Solution to Avoid Lots of Sicilian Theory
by XPLAYERJX 9 minutes ago
how does carlsen win every game do you know the answer
by sadie2thesecond 11 minutes ago
Top 10 chess players who never become a wrold champion
by wingchun1 12 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2014 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!