Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

Has chess.com been hacked


  • 2 years ago · Quote · #1

    buster47

     I received a email today from a so called Jane who says she got my Email address from chess.com.Here is a screen shot of the mail (there is even her email so if anyone interested just try your luckInnocent).To be honest I don't find it so funny and would like to know how she got my email address.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #2

    PrawnEatsPrawn

    I would immediately offer to marry her, then send her my bank details. Don't miss your chance, she sounds delightful.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #4

    buster47

    Natalia_Pogonina wrote:

    I often get such e-mails


    If you send me one I would be happy :) but this still doesn't answer the question how did she get the mail address?

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #5

    buster47

    stancula wrote:

    Dear friend, try to put the email in another format fille.i can read it all. It's too long horizontally. Try another size. thanks


    now you need glasses my dear friendSealed

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #6

    PrawnEatsPrawn

    Hold down the Ctrl key and roll the mouse wheel.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #7

    buster47

    PrawnEatsPrawn wrote:

    Hold down the Ctrl key and roll the mouse wheel.


    Now you guy's are being to technological Laughing

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #8

    blackfirestorm666

    PrawnEatsPrawn wrote:

    Hold down the Ctrl key and roll the mouse wheel.


    is he a man or a mouse? Laughing

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #9

    philidor_position

    This is a known scam format, I don't know how they link your email with the chess com site though, but that's just part of the package:

    Hello my dear.
    My name is jane, i saw your profile today (website)

    (...)

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #10

    ivandh

    All your base are belong to us

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #11

    fgm351

    ivandh wrote:

    All your base are belong to us


    "You are on the way to destruction"

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #12

    nulesus

    From what I understand, Your username is forwarded to your email account.

    ie if my username is nulesus then if you send mail to nulesus@chess.com it will be forwarded to ************@youremail.com *

    * (real email addresses have been changed to protect the innocent)

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #13

    buster47

    As my email account which it was send to  doesn't have my user name in it, and as I have a mail address which consist of my.. "first name@lastname.dk"... a example.... "frank@zappa.dk.".Surly they can find my first name, but not my last name on my profile and as there is no email provider in my email address it can't be that easy to find.It is the same address chess.com use to communicate with me, and if other persons on chess.com have revived mail's alike it could be that somebody got (stole,hakked) a mailing list from chess.com.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #14

    erik

    well, we certainly haven't been hacked, and are not exposing email addresses anywhere, so this is perplexing. i've also gotten the exact same email, but i've gotten other versions too that say they are from other sites, so my first guess is that they are just randomly putting in URLs of social sites. but it disturbs me that you get them on your non-chess.com email. do you have your chess.com email set to forward to your personal email address? because they might certainly guess your chess.com email if it is based on your username. can you look at the email headers to see?

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #15

    ninevah

    We're always one step behind the spambots' creators. They're clever bunch, turned e-mail searching into a profession. Mark the e-mail as a spam (or delete) and never ever click on links or respond to such e-mails.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #16

    smileative

    lol lol lol , ' it happens !!! SmileLaughing has happened to me with "Jasmine" an' summink beginnin' with P - maybe "Priscilla" - I think it bloody hilarious, worth a tale down the pub, nothin' to get anxious about, that for sure Smile

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #17

    blackfirestorm666

    Lol smileative :-)
  • 2 years ago · Quote · #18

    rnunesmagalhaes

    I didn't get one... Cry

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #19

    BigHickory

    My advice:

    These spam emails may be trying to spread viruses, trojans, or other nasties.  Delete them without opening them.  Nothing good ever comes from them, but if you are the kind of person who opens them anyway, just in case, have I got a deal for you . . . .

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #20

    buster47

    erik wrote:

    well, we certainly haven't been hacked, and are not exposing email addresses anywhere, so this is perplexing. i've also gotten the exact same email, but i've gotten other versions too that say they are from other sites, so my first guess is that they are just randomly putting in URLs of social sites. but it disturbs me that you get them on your non-chess.com email. do you have your chess.com email set to forward to your personal email address? because they might certainly guess your chess.com email if it is based on your username. can you look at the email headers to see?


    No my chess.mail is not put forward to any other other mail address+as the mail address the mail was send to do not have a mail provider as it is send to my domaine which as said before is the email address that I use to communicate with chess.com in.A email address which will be very hard to figure out without having my last name , we are not many in the world with that family name(In Denmark only my family roughly 12 persons).

    Another thing I don't understand is I have a photo album called "a bit dirty" which has never ever been published but still there has been 6 viewers who are those viewers? who can look at a album which hasn't been published? It might and it might not be a bit dirty but only I should know :).

    Thank you eric to look into this problem.  I first tried to send a message to chess.com staff with my problem, not to put this up in a public forum, but I couldn't as I have to be friends with them("this person"chess.com staff" only receives messages from friends so please send a friend request").I rarely send friends request to anyone and I thought it was enough to be a costumer to send a message to chess.com staff but no.

    You say chess.com certainly having been hacked I believe you as I believe that Twitter didn't know they had been hacked until last night.

    It is not a too serious matter for me if my account on chess.com has been hacked ,it is more my email I am worried about


Back to Top

Post your reply: