15358 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
This is an awesome puzzle!
what am i missing? why wouldn´t the black queen take the rook in f7?
Cause then its mate in 1 with queen to h6
This puzzle is helpful for normal plying. In most cases you have not the horizon to see until the mate. Assume your horizon to see a mate is limited to 2 moves. (The reason may be for example lack of experience or lack of time.) In real life your horizon in chess is limited and you have to do the best within that limit.
At the first look black has at all one pawn more than white.
Nf5 creates a mate threat that may be overlokked and has no obvious disadvantages.Assume you have no better ideas. Than move Nf5. Perhaps black overlooks the threat. If he does, white has won. If he does not, he has to do something against it.
Any moves with the king lead to direct mate. A move with the rook leads to mate within 2 moves by Q->h6->g7. Mate within 2 moves are within your horizon of 2 moves.
Black blocks the this threat by Qf8. The Queen is tied to control h6. Now white can take pawn f7+ and ask the queen to get away or keep control over h6.
Decision of black: keeping control over h6 by the queen and get away with the king. Still the mate is out of horizon of white, but a normal move is to take the queen. It has no obvious disadvantages and white has better material.
Black takes the rook and now the mate within 2 moves is in the horizon.White wins.
This puzzle shows a rule of thumb: if you can threat with a mate without disadvantages: do it!
yes very nice
Want more chess puzzles? Want a tactics rating? Check out the Tactics Trainer and 10,000+ tactical puzzles!
why did the queen move to f8 instead of any other square?
Because otherwise Qh6 - mate
you can do check mate in 2
Good puzzle if you ask me.
Very good puzzle indeed. Many people who said that this puzzle was easy probably missed the point of the puzzle.
The people who said that this position would never show up in a real game may be correct. However, in a real game, it is very probable that Black would have been worse off. It is indeed lucky for Black that the Queen, which was the target of a double attack, was able to not only save herself, but defend against mate. In most cases, it is far more likely that the Queen would have just been lost. Fantastic puzzle.
"Sinquefield Cup Round 6!"
Smart and Sexy - Top 10 Prettiest Female Chess players
by shell_knight a few minutes ago
Sinquefield Cup 2014
by fabelhaft a few minutes ago
9/2/2014 - Mate in 2 Again
by Anakin4805 8 minutes ago
can we say caruana is stronger then carlsen now
by SmyslovFan 11 minutes ago
Hurt/Heal Top 10 FIDE Players
by SicilianSveshnikov 13 minutes ago
by Mainline_Novelty 17 minutes ago
Stuff Non-Chess Players Say
by December_TwentyNine 20 minutes ago
Fabiano Caruana and Hikaru Nakamura
by chessmicky 21 minutes ago
Is chess less fun when you gets good?
by shell_knight 25 minutes ago
What will Nakamura's excuse be at Sinquefield 2014?
by shell_knight 35 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2014 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!