11234 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
This puzzle doesn't make sense. Can't the king kill the bishop at move 4?
Oh, now I see why, if the king does kill the bishop, white can't move anywhere, and therefore stalemate. But again, black is not aiming for stalemate. White is.
I like it! Very good puzzle
once you know there is an solution, you find. nice
OK, it seems to me that on move 5 black could have advanced the E pawn instead of moving the king. There was no stalemate as long as the bishop could still move. I don't see how white could have prevented a pawn promotion after that.
Post #98 explains that & many other variations very well !
WOW wrong again!!
why are comments deleted?
why did the king not take bishop on b3.
Hmmm, this one's odd.
it was hard but done by some mistakes! :)
Want more chess puzzles? Want a tactics rating? Check out the Tactics Trainer and 10,000+ tactical puzzles!
Wow can people stop asking why the king doesn't take bishop? It's a stalemate as been said a few times already . Puzzles aren't meant to be strictly mate focused. This puzzle is great, in that it shows you the power of square control and the importance of move sequence in the end game. When I first started the puzzle (I didnt guess right had to solution it) I thought to myself there is no way white can prevent promotion with 2 connected passed pawns (advanced) and one pawn on the protected by the king on b2. Awesome puzzle.
I think i'm missing the point...White moved the bishop to b3 (next to the king) taking the bishop seems logical to me. Instead of that black moved a pawn (e4).......I know it's almost x-mas but...I don't get this 'present
Why doesnt the black king take the white bishop on move 4?
@ wossaaat -- Ah! Thank you. Okay, now why 6 ...Kc4 instead of 6 ...c3? Wouldn’t it be better for that black pawn to get closer to a promotion?
ZZ and the eventual taking of all of blacks pawn. Either way it leads to a draw which is what white wants.
Carlsen's next opponent in the WCC match
by ghostofmaroczy a few minutes ago
Stuff Non-Chess Players Say
by OrganicVegetables a few minutes ago
Goodbye to Chess Addiction
by RG1951 a few minutes ago
by best-by-test 4 minutes ago
Hurt/Heal World Champions
by Arcieus 6 minutes ago
What strange chess rules can you think up?
by mauve_penguin 7 minutes ago
What does "positional" mean, versus "tactical"?
by chessmicky 10 minutes ago
Who Will Dethrone Magnus When the Time Comes?
by bjorkstrand 12 minutes ago
sexism in chess?
by XPLAYERJX 12 minutes ago
1946 London chess gear (video)
by MaximRecoil 14 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2014 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!