Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

2/12/2013 - Mate in 3


  • 17 months ago · Quote · #161

    Kratos2012

    so simple...

  • 17 months ago · Quote · #162

    Timeyo_R_Nkosi

    EZ

  • 17 months ago · Quote · #163

    csemachine

    First day...Laughing

  • 17 months ago · Quote · #164

    EduardoML10

    Nice attack! :D

  • 17 months ago · Quote · #165

    cthunderdp

    agreed, black to g5 is not a good move at all. should've been g6. 

  • 17 months ago · Quote · #166

    strngdrvnthng

    Baddabing baddaboom.

  • 17 months ago · Quote · #167

    PIRATCH

    cthunderdp wrote:

    agreed, black to g5 is not a good move at all. should've been g6. 

    Of course g5 is better than g6! 1...g6 will result in 2 Qxg6# (f7 is pinned by Bb3)! With 1...g5 Black's king has the square h7 for a short escape! (If you need to see it on a diagram see post #160!)

  • 17 months ago · Quote · #168

    paulified22

    abo_tamem_2012 wrote:
     

    Nice puzzle!!!

  • 17 months ago · Quote · #169

    paulified22

    cthunderdp wrote:

    agreed, black to g5 is not a good move at all. should've been g6. 

    g6 result's in, 2.Qxg6# result's in mate in two,not three like puzzle say's.f7 is pinned leaving g6 defensless,so Qg6#

  • 17 months ago · Quote · #170

    feastwood

    Everyone talking about which is better between g5 and g6 and saying g5 is better, but it really isn't true. g6 is definitely the "better" move. Both moves are totally losing, but g6 forces the opponent so see one last tactic. It's the only practical try. You never know, your opponent might have a brainlapse :) g5 is as good as resignation.

  • 17 months ago · Quote · #171

    PIRATCH

    FlintEastwood wrote:

    Everyone talking about which is better between g5 and g6 and saying g5 is better, but it really isn't true. g6 is definitely the "better" move. Both moves are totally losing, but g6 forces the opponent so see one last tactic. It's the only practical try. You never know, your opponent might have a brainlapse :) g5 is as good as resignation.

    Instead of 1...g6?! 2 Qxg6# you can resign as well! Tongue out

    Playing 1 Qg3 shows that White knows how to mate. By the way it's a problem and in a problem you should use Black's best defence - that's defenitely 1...g5 because it forces a mate in 3!

    For a game probably it's the last chance ... (but don't put too much hope in it)! Wink

  • 17 months ago · Quote · #172

    feastwood

    Of course, against a player you respect you can resign after Qg3 :) But if it's blitz or you're against a weaker player then I think always try tricks until the bitter end. You'd be suprised how many games you can swindle that way!

    "Playing 1 Qg3 shows that White knows how to mate. By the way it's a problem and in a problem you should use Black's best defence - that's defenitely 1...g5 because it forces a mate in 3!"


    Best defense isn't always longest defense. Since a computer would evaluate both positions as simply "winning" for white, without a precise score, you should go for whichever is the most practical defense. g5 is just a pointless move, it achieves nothing. g6 has a small, incy wincy glimmer of hope :) Also, some people may just play Qg3 because it looks aggressive, without necessarily seeing the follow up. Just because you can see the mate doesn't mean your opponent can!

  • 17 months ago · Quote · #173

    PIRATCH

    FlintEastwood wrote:

    Of course, against a player you respect you can resign after Qg3 :) But if it's blitz or you're against a weaker player then I think always try tricks until the bitter end. You'd be suprised how many games you can swindle that way!

    "Playing 1 Qg3 shows that White knows how to mate. By the way it's a problem and in a problem you should use Black's best defence - that's defenitely 1...g5 because it forces a mate in 3!"


    Best defense isn't always longest defense. Since a computer would evaluate both positions as simply "winning" for white, without a precise score, you should go for whichever is the most practical defense. g5 is just a pointless move, it achieves nothing. g6 has a small, incy wincy glimmer of hope :) Also, some people may just play Qg3 because it looks aggressive, without necessarily seeing the follow up. Just because you can see the mate doesn't mean your opponent can!

    Best defence at a problem always means longest. Therefore mate in 3 can only be reached with best defence 1...g5! (As shown before 1...g6? is a mistake in a problem! 2 Qxg6# proves it!)

    That's the difference between a game and a problem (called "Mate in n {moves}" - here n = 3)! Tongue out

  • 17 months ago · Quote · #174

    feastwood

    I can't believe you just gave g5 a ! :D

    I would be willing to bet money that If you took a sample group of players of different strengths, and gave half the position after g6 and half the position after g5, some people (total beginners) will miss the g6 tactic, whereas anybody who sees the position after g5 will mate immediately. g6 is simply a better practical try. It isn't a mistake within a problem, it is a (very small) extra problem within a problem! And there are plenty of examples of puzzles in which one side plays an objectively worse move (for example, taking a decoy) in order to highlight the idea within a puzzle. There is no rule that all puzzles should be "best play"!


Back to Top

Post your reply: