Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

3/11/2011 - Cohn, 1928


  • 3 years ago · Quote · #101

    EmiPau

    Wow, surprise...

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #102

    Daltivic

    good puzzle! Nice forced draw

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #103

    FredBatchelor

    i don't feel very solved.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #104

    asbakpenuh

    nice one. forced stalemate or insufficient draw.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #105

    An1m8r

    Playing for stalemate is something I need to start learning... interesting strategy. 

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #106

    j95959

    Last

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #107

    karblack

    fácil

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #108

    SmokinJ9

    Jpr wrote:

    how have i solved it? surely white loses...


    white can force a draw.  if black queen captures rook, stalemate.  if black advances pawn, rxQ+ then white can capture pawn.  if black moves king, rook can capture queen then pawn. 

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #109

    accio_joe

    localoptimum wrote:

    The solution doesn't make any sense.  PB2, KD2 (or e2), black promotes.  What am I missing please?  


     If Qxe3 it's stalemate.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #110

    Admin350

    Jpr wrote:

    how have i solved it? surely white loses...


     I understand that it becomes a stalemate, but in these cases stalemates seem stupid... white can't move because if he does, he gets taken, but isn't that the point?  Black should win this one because it was he that forced white into "passing" because he had no available move. An unfortunate, (and counter-intuitive, if not "cheating") rule of chess.  To me this is a checkmate, and when i teach people how to play, i will always tell them so, chess is about winning, not forcing a "draw" in favor of the loser.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #111

    szammie

    localoptimum wrote:

    The solution doesn't make any sense.  PB2, KD2 (or e2), black promotes.  What am I missing please?  


     U r right!  This is not a stalemate; Black will win (remember yesterday's puzzle; the end game).

    SZ.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #112

    cfrench49

    Interesting.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #113

    sen_kwan

    szammie wrote:
    localoptimum wrote:

    The solution doesn't make any sense.  PB2, KD2 (or e2), black promotes.  What am I missing please?  


     U r right!  This is not a stalemate; Black will win (remember yesterday's puzzle; the end game).

    SZ.


    no.. its a draw..

    theres no chance for black to win..
  • 3 years ago · Quote · #114

    Jenubis

    Jpr wrote:

    how have i solved it? surely white loses...


    If black takes the rook, white's king can not move anywhere and forces a stalemate.

    If the queen does not take the rook, white simply takes the queen, black takes back and the white pawn will never be promoted.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #115

    jamessaul

    stalemate

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #116

    tempora-mutantor

    nice stalemate  Cool

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #117

    Rogalentis

    What about 1...Qxe3 2.Kxe3 Kd5 3.Kd3 Kc5

    is it still draw?

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #118

    RothKevin

    yay forced draw Cry

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #119

    Escapest_Pawn

    It should be noted that if white plays 3Kd2, then 3...b2 only draws, but 3...QxRe3+ (sacking his queen for white's rook) wins for black.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #120

    tjfjerstad

    why wouldn't black just take the rook?


Back to Top

Post your reply: