Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

3/11/2011 - Cohn, 1928


  • 4 years ago · Quote · #121

    Big_McLargeHuge

    [COMMENT DELETED]
  • 4 years ago · Quote · #122

    che123

    nice stalemate, a draw is better than a lost

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #123

    kayeos

    Nice! Helps one think of Stalemates as a viable option to extract from a weak position. I was stumped initially too.

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #124

    Netsuj

    nice

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #125

    2-4-6TriNitroToluene

    "how have i solved it? surely white loses..."

    No, white surely draws :)

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #126

    Rogalentis

    2-4-6TriNitroToluene wrote:

    "how have i solved it? surely white loses..."

    No, white surely draws :)


    No,white surely loses

    1...Qxe3 2.Kxe3 Kd5 3.Kd3 Kc5

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #127

    usmdude

    Jpr wrote:

    how have i solved it? surely white loses...


    Jpr, actually white forces a stalemate because after black takes the rook white has no legal moves.

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #128

    gutter1357

    Nice

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #129

    jgl1976

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #130

    engr_maruf

    Wow what a forced draw!

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #131

    Joako-

    Nice one :D

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #132

    Danny_BLT

    thirst

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #133

    eddysallin

    localoptimum wrote:

    The solution doesn't make any sense.  PB2, KD2 (or e2), black promotes.  What am I missing please?  


     if black x rook on d/e file , the white king is stalemated.....an obvious answer is not to that( protect b. to pomote pawn). here the rook will check for a draw or to create  HEAD ACHE.

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #134

    eddysallin

    THE BLACK KING IS A PARTNER FOR WHITE, as the queen is pinned-so if rxq or qxr, stalemate(b. pawn covering c2 is nice......

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #135

    wadi2

    Oh! really good

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #136

    PauIKing

    v nice one

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #137

    diogens

    The worst thing of firstithis is not spamming or nonsense message, the worst is proclaiming FIRST when actually you are 2on, 3rd., or worse. And that's because:

    1. You are lying

    2. You are badly mistaken

    3. You don't know how to count up to two

    4. You are completely out of mind and need severe treatment

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #138

    hamedious

    nice puzzle thx

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #139

    minefounder

    I agree, White will lose. How is that a good puzzle? OBJECTIVE: Postpone Your loss.

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #140

    Gil-Gandel

    Admin350 wrote:
    Jpr wrote:

    how have i solved it? surely white loses...


     I understand that it becomes a stalemate, but in these cases stalemates seem stupid... white can't move because if he does, he gets taken, but isn't that the point?  Black should win this one because it was he that forced white into "passing" because he had no available move. An unfortunate, (and counter-intuitive, if not "cheating") rule of chess.  To me this is a checkmate, and when i teach people how to play, i will always tell them so, chess is about winning, not forcing a "draw" in favor of the loser.


    I'm sorry if it seems like "cheating" to you, but those are the rules, and you'll be doing a disservice to anyone you teach different - better would be to point them towards the actual Laws of Chess, easily accessed through the wonders of the internet.

    If you don't like the idea of stalemate being a draw, perhaps you should play Chinese chess, where the rules would indeed be more to your liking.


Back to Top

Post your reply: