9662 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
"yeewassup" yes there is something wrong with your version. When you have move 3 there is no reason why the king has to move to h8 when it could easily have moved to f8 and still been safe, which defies the point of checkmate in five. it could be many more than five.
This is a joke right? f8 safe? It makes it less than five, not "many more than five"
Intersting to give checkmate!
usually these puzzles are well thought out, but i seem to see another mate in 5, is there anything wrong with:
not saying that this puzzle isn't well thought out
it doesn't make us sack our queen, which is rule 3 of chess.com puzzles.
I also saw yeewassup's solution first. Is there anything wrong with it?
The classic Smothered Mate. If you had trouble finding this, study it again.
This is a very achievable tactic. I have surprised many opponents with it.
Please try something NEW ! (and difficult....)
Smothered mate. Gotta love it.
smother mate! good one
The book solution, which is the one I saw, is very clever. And also I like the solution that yeewassup came up with. Two solutions in one puzzle! A double treat!
Mate in 4: 1. Qe6+...Kh8 2. Nf7+...Kg8 3. Nd8+...(Kh8...4. Qe8++ or Kg8...4. Qg7++)
re: previous mate in 4 post, mate in 4 looks possible or if King goes to h8 it turns into a mate in 5. I'm really a big fan of 2 move puzzles where the first move is not a check and the secodnd move is mate, can we get mpore of those
why does the pawn not take the knight?
this also good i cant see anything wrong
This is what I thought the answer was.
I can see a mate in 4 actually. 1) Qe6+ Kh8 2) Nf7+ Kg8 3) Ne5+ Kh8 4) Ng6#
The Nd8+ line has already been brought up. It's no mate-in-4, the Black queen has a chance to block if 3... Kh8, it's an alternate mate-in-5.
Kidding with this one right? The pawn just takes the Knight. It what world did you think that was checkmate?
9/1/2014 - Mate in 2
by sato_au a few minutes ago
[COMPLiMENTS]: Blocking players after they leave 1 nice note on your wall?
by Pulpofeira 2 minutes ago
Studying the Semi-Slav
by ghostofmaroczy 4 minutes ago
FIDE Grand Prix - Baku 2014
by SilentKnighte5 5 minutes ago
by BillPhilip 10 minutes ago
Baku Grand Prix 2014
by ghostofmaroczy 10 minutes ago
Admins: Spam alert, you may wish to check this
by Blah_blahh 12 minutes ago
I'm starting a YouTube channel (POSSIBLY Major Update)
by RonaldJosephCote 13 minutes ago
Kasparov on Stupidity
by Spiritbro77 16 minutes ago
10/1/2014 - Mate in 3 Again
by washigaran 23 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2014 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!