12330 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
people when i come on i have 49 new comments here
The number of sarcastic, incomprehending or critical comments posted is a measure of how abstruse the puzzle is. The person who set the puzzle should be congratulated, especially if the position arose in real play. I think explanation is called for.
I respond to Herbage: "Could somebody please explain. I don't understand. If black queen takes white queen, then white has lost two major pieces and black still has queen, rook and knight and can win surely?"
That is exactly the point! If black queen takes white queen then Black cannot win. Although not in check, White has no legal move and the game ends in stalemate, since his only 'free' pawn is pinned and to move his king would be moving into check. If Black moves his king to get out of check, then White wins Black's queen for the loss of the rook and lives to fight on.
This is a good result for White, since at the start of the puzzle Black is on the point of getting him in checkmate with Ng5 followed by Qh2. The next best option for White is to exchange queens on e5. The solution to the puzzle is White's ingenious response to his predicament.
Of course, but the black queen can take the white queen and there goes the draw!
The Black queen taking the White queen IS the draw!
I didnt get this one...
No, just kidding. That was asowme!!
I didnt understand 1. Rd8+ Kh7 2. Qg8+ Kg63. Rd6+ Qxd6 4. Qe6+
Why not 1. Qxe5, sacrifice queen in the beginning and still save the rook.
If 1. Qxe5, after 1...Nxe5 white doesn't have enough material to draw and there is no stalemate so black will go on to win.
not the best.
Suicidal move ( PZ 1538 )
by Polar_Bear a few minutes ago
1. e4-b6 should be banned
by notmtwain 3 minutes ago
July 2014 - Juggle with the minors
by isai1_cesar 3 minutes ago
The olympiad prediction thread!!!
by unique1234567890 9 minutes ago
Post You're Chess Sets
by Jolal 10 minutes ago
Is Aronian overrated
by trotters64 14 minutes ago
If Fischer would played Karpov for the World Champion, who would win?
by Journeyman_Jim 15 minutes ago
I Don't See the Point of the Touch-Move Rule
by Yaroslavl 20 minutes ago
8/1/2014 - Cserna-Pogats 1986
by NezTeirg 24 minutes ago
What would you do about this abuse
by PlentyOToole 27 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2014 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!