10492 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
people when i come on i have 49 new comments here
The number of sarcastic, incomprehending or critical comments posted is a measure of how abstruse the puzzle is. The person who set the puzzle should be congratulated, especially if the position arose in real play. I think explanation is called for.
I respond to Herbage: "Could somebody please explain. I don't understand. If black queen takes white queen, then white has lost two major pieces and black still has queen, rook and knight and can win surely?"
That is exactly the point! If black queen takes white queen then Black cannot win. Although not in check, White has no legal move and the game ends in stalemate, since his only 'free' pawn is pinned and to move his king would be moving into check. If Black moves his king to get out of check, then White wins Black's queen for the loss of the rook and lives to fight on.
This is a good result for White, since at the start of the puzzle Black is on the point of getting him in checkmate with Ng5 followed by Qh2. The next best option for White is to exchange queens on e5. The solution to the puzzle is White's ingenious response to his predicament.
Of course, but the black queen can take the white queen and there goes the draw!
The Black queen taking the White queen IS the draw!
I didnt get this one...
No, just kidding. That was asowme!!
I didnt understand 1. Rd8+ Kh7 2. Qg8+ Kg63. Rd6+ Qxd6 4. Qe6+
Why not 1. Qxe5, sacrifice queen in the beginning and still save the rook.
If 1. Qxe5, after 1...Nxe5 white doesn't have enough material to draw and there is no stalemate so black will go on to win.
not the best.
Chess's illogical rule regarding pins
by whirlwind2011 15 minutes ago
Chronos Chess Clocks are Back!!!
by ChessFan1010 17 minutes ago
Need help from stronger players
by notmtwain 18 minutes ago
Hurt/Heal World Chess Champions
by Gondowe 26 minutes ago
King's Gambit v.s Queen's Gambit
by thegreat_patzer 26 minutes ago
6/30/2015 - Anatoly Karpov - Piotr Mickiewicz, Koszalin (Simu
by tonka_74 29 minutes ago
Post your sets!
by Franquis 40 minutes ago
Stonewall repertoire - move order issue.
by ipcress12 47 minutes ago
chess mentor vs tactics trainer
by notmtwain 49 minutes ago
Carlsen's Disaster in Norway
by MSC157 56 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2015 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!