10612 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
Easy but I thought white would let we give check mate, nice sacrifice, very interesting
I actually solved that one, unusual.
nf1 wouldn't change anything because
it is ok
Chess problems are supposed to end in white checkmating. I hate these. If the win state isn't going to be checkmate (which is a ridiculous idea in itself), would it be too much to ask that each puzzle has a description of the win state -- mate in 4, white to play and win, white to capture a queen, something?
If you state somethink like White to capture a queen you just about give the whole problem away. However White to play and win would be ok.
Of if it is a mate say how many moves is also ok.
Even though the ultimate goal in chess is to achieve checkmate, it is not always immediate and cannot always be pinpointed to a certain number of moves (at least by humans). Puzzles such as these are good because they are a realistic representation of what one usually has to go through in order to win a chess game. The mate in "x" amount of moves are not always available to us in our games.
I suppose it would be helpful if Chess.com would provide an explanation of why the final position in a puzzle is winning (if not checkmate) or drawing. However, in any puzzle I've ever done and wondered about the final position, this answer has been discussed in the comments section. So I would suggest reading through the comments. They will be very helpful.
IT WAS SO EASY❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗⭕❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗⭕❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗❗
Actually the puzzle is incomplete because White has NOT won anything yet. Black will fork the White King and Queen, winning the Queen. White still has a few more CORRECT moves that are mandatory, and if not made correctly, will NOT result in a White win. White could blunder, and end up LOSING or DRAWING if the rest of the sequence is NOT played out correctly. Not until White captures the Black rook and ends up a full bishop ahead in the end game is White out of the woods. So, this puzzle is NOT sufficient and to say that White has won after capturing the Black Queen is not correct. White SHOULD WIN, yes, but it is NOT inevitable. Blunders happen all the time.
nf1 wouldn't change anything because
of the following puzzle
Thank you for explaining! That was driving me crazy!
No honor among amateurs
by kleelof a few minutes ago
4/20/2015 - Mate in 3
by RAGNOSPAR a few minutes ago
what do people mean when they call a win "clean"?
by now_and_zen a few minutes ago
more stringent rules for abandoning games
by kleelof 2 minutes ago
6:44 vs 0:00
by Blockah 3 minutes ago
Nigel Short: Women's brains not chess brains
by Elubas 3 minutes ago
eliminating blunders without the wait?
by now_and_zen 7 minutes ago
Where have all the flags gone
by lisa_zhang_tok 8 minutes ago
by power_2_the_people 9 minutes ago
Are tactics really the way to go?
by hicetnunc 12 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2015 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!