12308 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
but i agree with comment 127 from 47godspeed
Why wouldn't black king take the pawn instead of the rook, it would leave white with the rook but it's better than a queen (promoted pawn), wouldn't have been mate and with the number of pawns on the board, black might just have made something work...
Want more chess puzzles? Want a tactics rating? Check out the Tactics Trainer and 10,000+ tactical puzzles!
yay got it
Why didnt black take the pawn instead of the rook. That way he's facing a rook and 3 pawns instead of a queen and 3 pawns. I know he'll probably still lse but it's better odds.
that horse comic thing is funny
For all those wondering whether the Black King should have taken the Pawn instead of the Rook on the 4th move (4...Kxb7 instead of 4...Kxd8), you are correct.
However, it is worse than that. The Black Rook would have already eliminated the Pawn on the second move instead of moving up to the eighth rank ( 2...Rxb7 instead of 2...Rd8). Take a look at the blue alternate line below:
If Black didn't already elimate the passed pawn on the second move, then Black definitely would have done it on the fourth move. See the blue alternate line below:
I can only assume that chess.com allowed the Pawn to promote to a Queen in order to establish that White would clearly have the upper hand and would quickly win instead of playing out the Rook scenario.
This is a very disappointing puzzle because it breaks the cardinal rules of chess puzzles, that being, that Black always makes the best moves possible and that Black tries to survive as long as possible even though loss is inevitable.
RACE FOR 1st PAGE?
TOO EASY PUZZLE.
I'm loving all these comics at the beginning as opposed to the "first" posts! Especially yours! Keep em coming guys!
Yet another dud! After 2.p-b7 black has K-b7 - he doesn't have to move his rook
Great.Please be relevant, helpful & nice!
WHY NOT BLACK MOVES HIS KING IN C7 IN SECOND MOVE?
2...Kc7 3. b8Q+ Kxb8 4. Rxd7. White wins.
1/31/2015 - Ryklis-Ivasyuk, USSR 1982
by arvencasio a few minutes ago
Another cheater thread
by bagahc a few minutes ago
i bet people with membership have lower ratings than people who don't
by pilotk9 4 minutes ago
by Nekhemevich 5 minutes ago
12 games for world championship?!
by j-pax 5 minutes ago
Best way to spend $1300 over a year?
by Nekhemevich 8 minutes ago
Is there any chance that a 1300 rated player can beat a 2700 rated player?
by Ammann_1 12 minutes ago
Little_Dabbler vs Granturismo1 -- Glitch cost me game
by notmtwain 24 minutes ago
I'm getting lag only on chess.com
by tranchant 27 minutes ago
Does anyone want to be a Great Chess Player?
by michael432000 28 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2015 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!