15615 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
What do you think about this ?!
If 3)...QxBd4, then Black will draw.
Because he either reaches the queening square a8 (via the route e6,d7,and c8), or he "traps" the White King on a7 (with opposition) and the Black King on c7.
Looks like a draw. Sorry.
Rook pawns give the defender much better drawing chances.
yeeh this is good ... haven't seen that .. thanks !!
In that position, a king trying to stop a rook pawn, the magic squares are a7, a8, b7, b8, c7, c8. If the king can get to any of those 6, the pawn is stopped.
Never saw a Rook Pawn Queen.
After 4.Kxd4 the position is a draw because Black's can reach the pawn before it can Q.
To determine if the defender can stop the advancing pawn count the number of squares the pawn will travel to become queen. And form a square in front of the pawn. If the defender can reach that square then the defender can stop the pawn.
For example, in position after 4.Kxd4, there are 4 squares that the pawn will travel to become Queen - a5, a6, a7, and a8. Form a square bounded by a5-a8; a5-d5; d5-d8; and a8-d8.
If Black's K can reach that square, then the K can stop the pawn.
Indeed after 4.Kxd4, Black can reach d7 or d6 after 4...Ke6 or 4...Ke7.
Thanks all yeh in fact it's a draw position ... :p
what about that ??!!
After 1.Qxe5 Qxe5+ 2.Bd4, the reply 2....Qxd4?? is a blunder which of course wins for White because the Black K is too far away from the square bounded by a5-d4 and d4-d8
The correct reply is 2...Kf6!! when Black can reach the square bounded by a5-d5 and d5-d8
en passant étiquette when opponent doesn't know about the rule
by TeraHammer a few minutes ago
7/11/2014 - All For The Win
by stanhope13 8 minutes ago
Everything you ever wanted to know about TheGrobe but never dared to ask
by pdela 9 minutes ago
Anyone Besides Me Having A Problem Deleting Priviate Messages
by Nine_fires 10 minutes ago
chess in prisons - where I am headed
by Berkmaster 14 minutes ago
How to crash a defense ?
by mrsnckl 15 minutes ago
Anyone Knows Online Playing Chess For REAL DOLLARS?
by Irontiger 16 minutes ago
If Fischer would played Karpov for the World Champion, who would win?
by nobodyreally 27 minutes ago
Is this a win for Black?
by Irontiger 27 minutes ago
Stuff Non-Chess Players Say
by akafett 27 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2014 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!