12371 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
Given White's last move was Nb6#, what was Black's last move?
His king must have come from either a7, b7, or b8 - but all these squares are covered. Therefore the position isn't possible.
White to move? That's a bit odd.
In any case, this position isn't reachable unless Black is being highly cooperative and/or a total idiot...
EDIT: Ninja'd by marvellosity. But what you said isn't quite true - the position can be legally reached, but it requires Black to help.
so if like that the black would be so stupid to go to a8
His king could have come from b8 after being placed in check by the knight on c6.
While possible, the King's option to move to c8 instead of a8 on the previous move, however, is why this position should be drawn.
Good call there, tyzebug.
I guess that's why it's practically impossible to mate with 2 knights. Only one extremely obvious defensive move is required. I think even a rank beginner would intuitively stay out the corner and not get mated.
Yeah. From Wikipedia, "Although there are checkmate positions with two knights against a king, they cannot be forced. The player with the lone king has to make a blunder to be checkmated."
Well, in some cases it can be forced, if Black has a pawn
Yep, but only in certain positions. Plus, it's no longer really a two knights mate, but instead a two knights vs pawn mate.
ok i got it
Taking that bishop gets Black mated faster than any other move though. Only a weak piece-grabber would play that move (or maybe someone who knows you can't force checkmate with two knights, but didn't notice that this position is...special). Then again, in that position Black is lost anyway so it's only a matter of time.
The only feasible reason that I can think of for Black to do that:
I'm well aware that 2 knights can;t force checkmate against a king. I'm currently playing a game where I have the king v the 2 knights, so my question is why doesn't the chess.com website not allow me to claim the draw. Am I going to have to wait 50 moves before being able to do so?
Well, you can blunder into a mate, your draw is a theoretical "book draw". Unlike a single Knight, where mate is impossible, this is an actual insufficient material draw.
If Black has no pawn, then the game is a draw.
It can be a book draw or theoretical draw as rooperi said. :D
have u claimed a draw?
I've offered one, but my opponent wants to play on as he's never played with 2 knights before.
Tell him you want to experiment, by putting his King in a corner :D
"2015 European Individual Championship Round 10 Hosts GM Alon Greenfeld and GM Ronen Har-Zvi"
3/6/2015 - Kasparian - Manvelian, Erevan 1939
by adel_man30 a few minutes ago
my tournament rules and how I set up my tournaments now
by BIGKINAK a few minutes ago
what tactic book help u get over that hump
by bgianis a few minutes ago
Windows Phone 8 Beta Testers Needed
by anurajd 12 minutes ago
Wachten tot Sint Juttemis
by RomyGer 22 minutes ago
by arindam_rao 24 minutes ago
If you could change one rule of chess,what would it be?
by GnrfFrtzl 27 minutes ago
by You-Lost-And-Run 36 minutes ago
by Stavros_34 40 minutes ago
by GnrfFrtzl 52 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2015 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!