19565 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Backgammon, Yatzy, and more!
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
Yeah, true, I didn't mean you had to get the opposition, only that if you've got it you've definitely won.
I can't think of any position where that doesn't hold true.
What about a rook's pawn? (I know, too lame an example...).
Post 12 correctly states the rule for determining who's winning from this position. It's very strange that the same person who posted that rule then said the position in post 15 was a draw if it were black to move.
I think post 12 should say 5th rank, not 6th.
Basically what it boils down to is that if you can gain the opposition with the king in front of the pawn then you win. I can't think of any position where that doesn't hold true.
This doesn't really apply at all in fact, but its an important one to know.
no matter whose move it is black draws unfortunately.
Post #25, the king isn't in front of the pawn in that position.
Post #22, D'oh!
uh i even said it doesnt apply at all.
Actually, if change we change condition #3 in post #12 from pawn on 6th rank to King on 6th rank it's right.
But can you think of a position, not involving rook pawns and not hanging the pawn, where "white" has a pawn on the 6th rank, and one of the other two conditions are met and it's NOT a win?
Randommemory's post #25 is interesting because if you move it all over one file, you get a very instructive win for white.
Here's a fun one to test your knowledge. Taking the opposition is a draw. 1.Ke5 is the only way to win.
Similarly if the white king is already on e5 then black to move can only draw by placing his king on f7 and if instead he took the opposition then he loses.
Yes. I wasn't defending his rule in the first place though, just suggested the mistake he may have made.
The position in post 30 is both quite famous and famously difficult. The winning plan for white against best play is to bring the K to e8 and outflank Blac via g8. There are several "only" moves in that scenario.
This puzzle, composed by D. Hooper (1961), is an extremely complex version of the puzzle found in post 30.
In order to solve it fully, one has to work out a series of corresponding squares. It normally takes hours to work it out.
It's amazing how seemingly simple positions can contain so much difficulty. It's a wonder we can play most positions as well as we do.
Indeed. I just embrace it, knowing any position is a puzzle to solve -- who needs a sudoku book when you have a chess position. Chess improvement is a journey that never loses freshness for me.
Is there any chance that a 1300 rated player can beat a 2700 rated player?
by MASS_ATTACKER a few minutes ago
Enter the Omega Reti Gambit
by pfren a few minutes ago
by Sqod 6 minutes ago
I need your help <Joking>
by Diakonia 6 minutes ago
New chess variant. Looking for players to play with.
by LXIVC 9 minutes ago
by baddogno 12 minutes ago
Which diagonals have names?
by mosai 14 minutes ago
He timed out not me?!
by TheYellowCrane 17 minutes ago
Help! No matter what I do I get Out-Theoried
by Fiveofswords 20 minutes ago
by baddogno 20 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2015 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!