11350 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
The 1967 Sousse Interzona is well known for ejecting Fischer from the tournament.
Fischer was then leading with a score of 8.5 out of 10 when he encountered a conflict in scheduling with the organizers resulting in Fischer being forfeited in 3 games and consequently earned an automatic ejection from the event.
That, however, is not the topic of this thread.
The topic of this thread is the game between GM Alexander Matanovic of Yugoslavia and IM Ortvin Sarapu of New Zealand
The position below was reached after 34...Qc6. Play resumed as follows:
What did GM Matalovic miss?
i don't know about you but after Qxc2 is gxh3 seem good to you?
Matanovic is playing white i think the op suggests there was a better move for him
If you allow your opponent checkmate in one move, then clearly you missed it... Matanovic's name probably appears in the thread title simply because he is the higher rated player.
GM Matanovic missed the Mate in 1 when he played 3.Bg3??? For IM Sarapu had a mate in 1 with 3....Qxg2# checkmate.
The title may also as well have been What Did IM Sarapu miss?
That's hard to believe..was it a time scramble or something?
Most likely the cause of GM Matanavoic missing the mate is optical illusion.
The Q at g3 was guarding g2 before Matanovic moved his B to g3. Most likely Matanovic failed to see that by playing Bg3 the B blocked the Q from g2.
Makes some sense...time probably was also a factor though.
i find that hard to believe that he would make a mistake like that in normal time left he was probably rushing
Makes sense that they were in time trouble too, because this incident took place a few moves before time control.
Dont believe whatever your opponent says to you, use ur brain too!! :D
Vacation Time - Staff Please Have Mercy
by Spocktor_Who 2 minutes ago
Luck in Chess
by MuhammadAreez10 3 minutes ago
Best Chess.com avatars ever!
by Doggy_Style 3 minutes ago
Why people are so keen to judge others?
by Big_Chested_Desi 4 minutes ago
My new checkmate that I invinted
by MuhammadAreez10 9 minutes ago
I luke the site, overall
by GIex 9 minutes ago
Who is the best chess player of all time ?vote here !
by GrandMasterSam999 13 minutes ago
Every fool can win in blitz chess !
by BorgQueen 14 minutes ago
Any suggestion on how to improve blitz ratings?
by IMT_2 17 minutes ago
Live chess controls
by MuhammadAreez10 19 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2015 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!