10977 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
Just now i was watching a game between ramin33 vs abvegeto and i surprised when it was declared game drawn by insufficient material. Actually ramin33 became time out before he could finish the game. that means he lost by timeout. Had he got enough time no doubt he was to win. But still ramin33 lost by timeout. Y WAS THIS GAME DECLARED DRAW? PLEASE ANSWER ME. IT SHOWS HIS POOR TIME MANAGEMENT AND HIS OPPONENT SHOULD HAVE DECLARED WON ON TIME. This is what i got to see in all the games i played so far. Because i lost many games by time out eventhough i was on the winning side of those games. The games were not declared draw in spite of my winning side when i became timeout.So how u differentiate these situations please explain. HERE IS THE GAME LINK http://www.chess.com/livechess/game?id=352762314
ya that does not seem right when white can still get a queen for checkmate
White time ran out so he should lose, but since BLACK doesn't have any suffecient material he can't possibly win, thus the draw.
Its black who doesn't have material, not white.
EDIT: if your time rans out, it doesnt matter what YOU have, what matters is what your oponent have, if he have enough material to give any possible checkmate, then he wins due to time, but if he doesn't then its a draw because your time ran out, but you oponent cannot possible checkmate you.
oh i c .. cool .. so black SHOULD have won on time but instead white got the draw on material .. interesting ..
no here white lost in time actually that means he lost the game right? if not then why i lost in such situation ? that is my question
actually to declare the result why they see what opponent has? here no doubt white lost by poor time management so his opponent should win it? that is this is black's win
It's a rule of chess than you can't win on time if you don't have enough material to checkmate. Black cannot checkmate with a lone king.
Seriously, this question comes up almost every single day on this forum. It's a simple rule, and you need to learn it. You can't lose on time if your opponent does not have sufficient material to force a checkmate.
I think we need to sticky a giant flashing neon-pink thread on this.
but even when i was in the winning side i lost because of time out.just one more move would have checkmated the opponent, still i lost on time
Or a rules quiz before forum access is granted.
'My opponent cheated by capturing my pawn that had already passed him!'.
thank u JamieKovalski for clarification
If you lost on time, it only matters if your opponent has enough material to win, not whether his position is technically won. If your flag drops one move before checkmate, your opponent wins on time even if he's got only king and pawn on the board. A single pawn is considered sufficient material.
thnak u again JamieKowalski for making my doubt clear. now no doubt left on that matter for me
Luv to see those LED's with glitter and sparkles,
My Most Brilliant Game(Thus far)
by JohnnySaysThankYou 11 minutes ago
8/31/2014 - Mate in 2
by abekiroz 11 minutes ago
Is it Draw or Winning for Black ??? white to move
by AzianRice 11 minutes ago
by wakkybomb 18 minutes ago
Ur chess personality
by vrahul_14 19 minutes ago
by MrKornKid 33 minutes ago
My adversary hasn't done any move for days
by Talfan1 41 minutes ago
Chess greatness CANNOT be taught or learned……
by mahoneystyle 42 minutes ago
what is a troll?
by mic15counterstrategy 43 minutes ago
World Chess.com Correspondence Chess Championship Match (MSC157 vs. _)
by mnhsr 44 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2014 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!