10903 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
I've been offered a draw in one of my games. I'm playing with only one rook and my opponent has only one knight... should I accept it?
No need to say that we've been playing around a couple of moves... I know I CAN mate him with my rook but the knight has been always bothering...
Depends on position, but normally a draw.
It's against the rules of the site to talk about ongoing games. Decide whether to accept the draw or not and then, when the game is finished, post it and get others to comment on it.
jonnyjupiter, thanks and apologise.
Anyway I already decided to accept the draw... and I posted the question here since this game is on-going in another site.
Thank you, all
Bring rook to d4.
That position is a draw
Here is a good site to check stuff like this out after you finish games:
http://www.shredderchess.com/online-chess/online-databases/endgame-database.html up to 5 pieces i think not sure.
No worries. Since the game is now over I can comment:
King + rook against king + knight can only be a forced win if the knight is separated from the king or if the king is trapped in the corner, otherwise it is a draw. Your position was a draw with accurate play from both sides.
Thanks again and thanks to Sconsc for the link... I'll check it out.
I'm playing a game where I have a knight and a rook. He has a rook only.
He keeps checking me with rook and trying to force a draw. Is this a draw?
This is on Chess with friends.
Why not try cover your Knight to the King, so the rook can't give check.
However, Bishop+rook+king vs king+rook is sometimes drawn.
Knight+rook vs rook is drawn if the King is on the center.
If the King and the Knight is on the corner, then it is a win for a King+rook.
7/26/2014 - Saonina-Tjekova 1980
by thenoor a few minutes ago
Does fate (or destiny) plays significant role in the success of Carlsen?
by fabelhaft 5 minutes ago
Stephen Hawking: 'Girls are bad at chess'
by SocialPanda 6 minutes ago
Tactics Trainer Problem Difficulty
by TomHaegin 8 minutes ago
What animal would make the best chess player?
by Babytigrrr 11 minutes ago
Ruth Haring: 'Girls are bad at chess'
by SocialPanda 11 minutes ago
IM Arnold Denker won in 7 moves.His next move is 2.????
by Chesscoaching 14 minutes ago
Can someone please identify this opening? (beginner question)
by CJ_P 22 minutes ago
How many USCF national master are there?
by ashikuzzaman 24 minutes ago
Who are you supporting in the upcoming rematch b/w Anand and Carlsen ?
by Tactical_Fight 34 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2014 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!