Forums

Analysis of Beginner Game

Sort:
mlevine4444
mlevine4444

Above is a game that I played and won as white (left column).  I'm a true beginner, and any feedback is much appreciated.  Please don't refrain from pointing anything out, no matter how obvious it may seem, as I probably missed it.  And try not to laugh at me too hard Laughing

gpobernardo

Hello mlevine4444, let me try to analyze your game, eventhough I'm not as strong as a grandmaster, hope this helps Smile

What were your thoughts for 2. Nc3? It attacks d5 pawn, protects the e4 pawn, and controls parts of the center, but if your opponent played 2. ... d4, the Nc3 Knight would have to move again. In the opening, we have to develop as much of our pieces as we can and therefore avoid moving the same piece consecutively more than once...much better to move different pieces each move in the opening.

The same question for 3. Nf3.. it protects the d4 square and controls parts of the center, but it still doesn't eliminate black's threat to push the pawn to d4 attacking the Knight and disturbing your position. After something like 3. ...d4 you can't take with the Nf3 Knight since the d-pawn is protected by the Queen.

4. Bd3 frees the king to castle king-side, but it over-protects the e4 pawn and blocks the d2 pawn from moving forward to open the diagonal for your black-square bishop.

6. Bb2 fianchetto could have been delayed. Since you moved 4. Bd3 perhaps to free the king to castle kingside, it might have been better if you castled right away before the fianchetto. Besides, black is threatening 6. ... Ng4 and then 7. ...Nxf2, taking the rook in the next move after saving your queen.

7. Nxd5 gives the opponent an advantage by allowing black to put the queen in the center, though you can exploit this early queen move by attacking it somehow.

10. Bc4 is an excellent move, skewering the all-powerful Queen and it guarantees you the win after Bxd5.