Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

Bishop Sac - wise or unwise


  • 22 months ago · Quote · #1

    LongIslandMark

    In this game I'm particularly interested in comments at move 22... c5 through move 24. I sacrificed a bishop for two pawns and some space in the center to open up lines of attack.

    Did this only work for me since, being only 900's blitz, I'm playing other 900's?

    What might have you done differently?

  • 22 months ago · Quote · #2

    wilford-n

    I know you didn't ask, but after 31.Ke2 you had a mate in two: 31 ... Rd2+ 32. Ke1 Qf2#.

  • 22 months ago · Quote · #3

    LongIslandMark

    wilford-n wrote:

    I know you didn't ask, but after 31.Ke2 you had a mate in two: 31 ... Rd2+ 32. Ke1 Qf2#.

    Thanks! No I didn't see that (of course) - I've posted a few games and folks have politely pointed out all I missed. Appreciated. I mostly asked about the moves around 22 since I didn't want to waste folks time on my opening, which I know is weak.

  • 22 months ago · Quote · #4

    LoekBergman

    One thing for sure, it is not a good idea to start the sacrifice of the bishop with the gift of a pawn. Hence if you sacrifice the bishop please do it directly like:

    22. Kg3 Bd4: 23. ed4: Qd4: and now you have the threats of Rf2 and Qf2 and Qe5:+. Very good threats for a blitz, but they can be handled all with 24. Qe1 though. Conclusion: the time is not set for the sacrifice of that bishop. It is better to play another move. In this position white is much better and you will pushed back when you do nothing. The sacrifice is at least doing something.

    I think I would play 22. ... Rd8 to have a direct threat on d2 after the sacrifice of the bishop. White has a better position in my opinion and can afford himself to exchange queens. Play could continu like this:

    22. ... Rd8 23. Qh1 Qh1: 24. Rh1: Bd4: 25. ed4: Rd4: 26. Bc1 and white can defend all his pawns using the moves Bb2 and Rh2 or Rc1.

    or

    22. ... Rd8 23. Qh1 Qc4 24. Qe4 Qe2 25. Qg2 Qc4 26. Rh1 and white will have a strong attack.

    or

    22. ... Rd8 23. c3 Qe4 24. Qe2 Qc2 25. Rf1 etc..

    And there are probably a lot of other moves. But Rd8 could have been well in a blitz.

  • 22 months ago · Quote · #5

    rooperi

    Rule of thumb:

    If you have to ask whether it's good, it's probably not.

  • 22 months ago · Quote · #6

    helltank

    25...Rf3 26. Qxf3 Qxa1 and the pawns fall. The king is open to harass by your queen, allowing you an easy draw at least. 

  • 22 months ago · Quote · #7

    LongIslandMark

    LoekBergman wrote:

    One thing for sure, it is not a good idea to start the sacrifice of the bishop with the gift of a pawn. Hence if you sacrifice the bishop please do it directly like:

    22. Kg3 Bd4: 23. ed4: Qd4: and now you have the threats of Rf2 and Qf2 and Qe5:+. Very good threats for a blitz, but they can be handled all with 24. Qe1 though. Conclusion: the time is not set for the sacrifice of that bishop. It is better to play another move. In this position white is much better and you will pushed back when you do nothing. The sacrifice is at least doing something.

    Thank you for your extended analysis. I see, if I was intent on the bishop sacrifice, I could have done better - your suggestion looks more aggressive. I've looked over your other continuations and will spend more time studying them.

  • 22 months ago · Quote · #8

    LongIslandMark

    helltank wrote:

    25...Rf3 26. Qxf3 Qxa1 and the pawns fall. The king is open to harass by your queen, allowing you an easy draw at least. 

    I agree with your assesment, but as it was a Blitz game, I think I was better off leaving the white rook inactive in the corner, rather than trading my active rook for the inactive one. I was looking to force a win.

  • 22 months ago · Quote · #9

    LoekBergman

    From move 25 on you play very well until move 31. At move 31 did you have a mate in two. Can you see it now?

  • 22 months ago · Quote · #10

    LongIslandMark

    LoekBergman wrote:

    From move 25 on you play very well until move 31. At move 31 did you have a mate in two. Can you see it now?

    Yes, thanks. wilford-n pointed this out in a previous post. I miss mates-in-one and mates-in-two more often that I should (which should be never) - one reason I'm not rated higher.

    Thanks for the "play very well" comment.


Back to Top

Post your reply: