16923 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
does anyone noticed this was started nearly 2 years ago?
Yeah i hinted at asking when this was started. Thank you for response.
I have been playing chess for a while and just recently 5 years but not all on this site. I did not have a draw game for years until i came online. The reason for me being interested in the source of draw rules until now.
I want to have ta trophy of the pinky of the guy that thought this was a good one. I mean the part added on where it does not have to be consecutive. The first part was ok, if it is working do not try to fix it!
lol yes i posted this when first got online. A guy was able to draw a game i had won because of this rule. It hasn't happened to me again since that game. I was a little surprised to see people commenting on it again.
I used to be a Draw Master (think i already posted that... other thread?)
Bla bla bla then i started convering games that would start to go into that direction into wins. Later i just was good enough not to have to venture on that line.
I agree about it not happening again and i promise that i will not ..... I took the time to look it up that rule which i should have done a long time ago. But my last draw was a win. By that he was about to mate me then i check, check, check he thought i was going for a draw. I thought i might get the win after i checked him 30+ times avoiding repetition. I can tell he was amazed at my skills to do this. 2nd nature as i remember some of my Draw Master skills when i was a kid. About the 40+ consecutive check after waiting to trick him into a favorable postion ....Draw. lol
That add on to the repetition rule got me. I was looking over the game for days wondering what happen. Later forgot about it as my other games were getting tough.
Saw this thread ..... thanks to the person who created it as it made me look up the rules.
FYI: the rules are clear cut. Our knowledge and awareness of the rules is what is sometimes foggy. If I had had the rook swap happen in an OTB game neither me nor my opponent would have been likely to notice that it qualified as a draw. The "claim draw" appeared is the only reason that we noticed it. In a live online game or an OTB game where you have a timer ticking away and you are paying attention to the game it would be hard to notice a strange repeat of position, unless you are trying to make it happen. In the case that my opponent and I had neither was trying to draw, but happened to notice the claim draw sign.
A player declares a draw if the same exact position is repeated three times (though not necessarily three times in a row)
"FYI: the rules are clear cut. Our knowledge and awareness of the rules is what is sometimes foggy."
" it would be hard to notice a strange repeat of position"
I have say Judge in now does this person represent me in this case now or in the future. Never saw him or had any connection whatsoever. Your honor i rest my case.
I have just been 'stung' buy this rule. I had a rook and a queen and was about to get checkmate in the space of a couple of moves.My opponent only had a queen left and then just blatantly repeated his moves (my king had no alternative square to move to each time) until it became a draw.
Now - is this,
Clever Play on his behalf, knowing that that was would defintely happen OR Foolish play on mine, leaving myself open to this rule? For someone with a decisive advantage, it doesnt seem at all fair (like the kid taking HIS ball home when he losing during a football match!)
No, it is more like you are saying that the losing team should go ahead and forfeit instead of playing the last few minutes - as if a comeback is bad sportsmanship. If there is a drawing chance, go for it! Likewise, just because you have a material advantage doesn't mean you can plod your way to checkmate, you've still got to play your best!
7/4/2015 - IM Bosboom - IM Bitalzadeh, Corus C, 2009
by IvanKovalenko a few minutes ago
When a coward refuses to resign.......
by BattleChessGN18 2 minutes ago
But I didn't abort...
by lightbrick 3 minutes ago
How to exploit a very slight space advantage
by Rumo75 3 minutes ago
French tarrasch open against +150
by Equiv 5 minutes ago
Toplolov new WC?
by Ziryab 6 minutes ago
Is Wei Yi - Bruzón as good as the buzz says?
by Ziryab 8 minutes ago
by shine5 10 minutes ago
Opposite colored bishops
by Equiv 11 minutes ago
by Solastalgia 22 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2015 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!