21383 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Backgammon, Yatzy, and more!
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
I had a computer analysis done on this game:
I castled on move 7. The computer analysis said I should have moved nxe5: (-0.84) INACCURACY - With that last move you went from roughly equal to having a worse position. Your best continuation was 7. Nxe5.
I was hoping to capture the knight. What would the purpose be to capture a pawn just to lose a knight? Thanks.
I think the idea is 7. Nxe5 Nxe5 8. Qd4 or maybe 8. Qd5.... simultaneously attacking both Knights: which fortunately are both on the e-file, so a capture with check is likely, in the event of tricky stuff by Black.
The long and short of it, is that you turned your nose up at a free pawn, when you castled.
After 7 Nxe5 Nxe5 8 Qd4 you'll recapture one of the Knights and be left with an extra pawn.
Yes, what these guys said.
Congrats on taking action by getting your game analyzed and then asking for the explanation.
Two guys with online rankings over 1900 supplied the answers.
It would be hard to "see" Qd4 if you hadn't either played it or encountered it in a game, read it in a book, seen it on a video or some other method of study or experience.
But you asked here in the forum and within ten minutes had strong players explain it. The fact that both of them responded with basically the same answer also gives you confirmation.
So that shows you are doing the right things to improve. Keep doing what you're doing and next time it comes up in a game, you'll take the pawn with your knight, then if it's recaptured, you'll know to reply with Qd4.
Thanks everyone. I hope I remember it at the appropriate time!
"Titled Tuesday EARLY EVENT! Host IM Danny Rensch"
Can Karpov become world champion again?
by GMrisingJCLmember1 3 minutes ago
12/1/2015 - Kosolapov - Nezhmetdinov, Kazan 1936
by irontigran1 3 minutes ago
Auto-resign rule means I cant enjoy chess anymore
by Diakonia 6 minutes ago
how to block someone
by Estren 7 minutes ago
The French Defence
by matias_sanes 9 minutes ago
Help! No matter what I do I get Out-Theoried
by Diakonia 10 minutes ago
Playing to win on time.
by Stein10311 11 minutes ago
A Friend Request
by IAmAquarius 13 minutes ago
by Adam-Herwis 17 minutes ago
Is Stonewall a great defense?
by Polar_Bear 22 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2015 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!