Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

Responses or traps from this position?


  • 16 months ago · Quote · #1

    Nietzsche_Keen

    I often find myself in this position; my knight (F3) under attack/threat by opponents bishop (G4). Does anyone know any cool traps or good responses to this position? Any thoughts on preventing this for occuring?

    Before anyone chastises me for not doing it myself; I am analyzing my games and working hard on this particular position. I'm just asking for other, more experienced perspectives.

    Thanks in advance!


  • 16 months ago · Quote · #2

    Spielkalb

    Hi Nietzsche_Keen,

    Yeah, the nasty pin on the queen, I know what you mean, quite anoying. The most common way to break the pin is to move your light squared bishop to e2. In the  position above it's a little problem because you've already committed that bishop to b5.

    Moving the queen is not a good option because the trade destoys the castling position, as you demonstrated.

    To  prevent this pin in advance it's possible to play h3. But that's not ideal because it takes away precious time in the opening which you can spend better in the most cases developing your pieces.

     


     

    As you're asking for traps, here's the most famous. It's called "Legal's Mate". Legal was the teacher of Philidor, one of the founder of modern chess in the 18th century.

    If Black's bishop is not protected and you've got your king's knight and bishop ready you may eat the f7 pawn using such kind of combination:

    So far, so good, main rule: Don't panic! If he takes your knight he's giving away his bishop pair, so just try to protect the squares the knight covers with another piece and look forward to the game. 

    Hope my remarks are helpful.

    Cheers,

    Spielkalb



  • 16 months ago · Quote · #3

    Spielkalb

    Third variation, much more common as a trap in some openings:



  • 16 months ago · Quote · #4

    Nietzsche_Keen

    NICE!!! Laughing Thank you for taking to time to post such a thorough and thoughful reply! It's very enlightening. Love the legal trap... I will play around with all the variations.

    Thanks again!

  • 16 months ago · Quote · #5

    Spielkalb

    You're welcome, glad to be of assistance!

    I had to correct the moves in Legal's Mate slightly. You have to push Black's bishop with h3 first, otherwise he can simply take your knight and protects his bishop. If you push the bishop first you've got a  backup plan if he doesn't take your queen, see the variation.

    Have fun with it, especially with the third variation because that's the most common one, I suppose.

  • 16 months ago · Quote · #6

    yeres30

    A note about the 2nd example of spielkalb after 1.e4 e5 2.Nf3 d6 3.Bc4 Bg4 4.d3 Nc6 5.Bxf7+ (See diagram below) is that White would be down a piece after 5....Kxf7 6.Ng5+ Qxg5 (instead of 6....Ke8).  For now after 7.Bxg5 Bxd1 8.Kxd1 White has lost N+B to only P+B for Back



  • 16 months ago · Quote · #7

    Spielkalb

    yeres30 wrote:

    A note about the 2nd example of spielkalb after 1.e4 e5 2.Nf3 d6 3.Bc4 Bg4 4.d3 Nc6 5.Bxf7+ (See diagram below) is that White would be down a piece after 5....Kxf7 6.Ng5+ Qxg5 (instead of 6....Ke8).  For now after 7.Bxg5 Bxd1 8.Kxd1 White has lost N+B to only P+B for Back.

    Oops, yes, you're right. My construction is faulty but the idea behind is clear, I hope.

  • 16 months ago · Quote · #8

    Nietzsche_Keen

    I got the general idea, thanks. I've learned that, for me at least, it does no good to remember moves; it's best to remember concepts.

  • 16 months ago · Quote · #9

    Spielkalb

    Nietzsche_Keen wrote:

    I got the general idea, thanks. I've learned that, for me at least, it does no good to remember moves; it's best to remember concepts.

    True. I came up with another one, similar to #2, but exploiting the double attack of knight and queen on the oponent's bishop, even if he's covered by his own knight:



  • 16 months ago · Quote · #10

    Nietzsche_Keen

    This is something I worked out during my lunch. I didn't look to see if it makes white any worse off, but the two sides wind up about even. Not necessarily a good plan, just something I was toying around with. It does seem to reduce blacks lead in development ever so slightly.

  • 16 months ago · Quote · #11

    yeres30

    Nietzsche_Keen wrote:

    This is something I worked out during my lunch. I didn't look to see if it makes white any worse off, but the two sides wind up about even. Not necessarily a good plan, just something I was toying around with. It does seem to reduce blacks lead in development ever so slightly.

    Instead of 7....bxc6 is there something wrong with 7....Bxc6 when Black comes up one B ahead?



  • 16 months ago · Quote · #12

    Nietzsche_Keen

    Oh, I see. Hmmm...


Back to Top

Post your reply: