Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

Very curious ending


  • 2 years ago · Quote · #1

    Machorro_Salido

    Hi everybody!

    I lost this game yesterday. I want to show you the ending because I think it's interesting. Actually... shouldn't I be able to take the h5 tower? g6 pawn is pinned, so... 



  • 2 years ago · Quote · #2

    Cattoir

    Kinda strange to think about it imo.
    if you would take the h5 tower, you put yourself in a check position. But that pawn can't move, because else black is in a check position ...
    Pretty funny :D

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #3

    johnyoudell

    Rule 3.9 FIDE laws of chess       

    The king is said to be 'in check' if it is attacked by one or more of the opponent's pieces, even if such pieces are constrained from moving to that square because they would then leave or place their own king in check. No piece can be moved that will either expose the king of the same colour to check or leave that king in check.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #4

    BobNoto

    You can never move your king into check, even if the checking piece is unable to "capture" the king.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #5

    Cattoir

    Yes I know, but still it's fun to see it .. It really doesn't happen a lot does it?

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #6

    BasilStJohn

    Bloody good position. Thanks for posting it.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #7

    Dude_3

    If you think about it, since you lose after losing the king, think of the king as a power generator. The pawn takes the king and before the rook can take the other king the power generator is already destroyed so the rook and the other pieces are immobilized.

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #8

    omnipaul

    King takes rook.  Pawn takes king.  White pieces commit seppuku for allowing their king to die.  Black wins.

  • 22 months ago · Quote · #9

    Rochesterian

    [COMMENT DELETED]

  • 22 months ago · Quote · #10

    Rochesterian

    [COMMENT DELETED]

Back to Top

Post your reply: