Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

62 moves with only my king and no stalemate


  • 10 months ago · Quote · #1

    Serial_Regicide

    [COMMENT DELETED]
  • 10 months ago · Quote · #2

    macer75

    You need to claim a draw by 50 move rule, especially one against Bobby Fischer.

  • 10 months ago · Quote · #3

    blowerd

    Serial_Regicide wrote:

    doesn't chess.com recognize the fifty move stalemate rule?

     bobbyfisher000000 (1071)  Serial_Regicide (1100) 1-0 (lost) 85 10/2/13

    The other thing is that the 50 move rule didn't apply in the game you have posted anyway.  Its 50 moves without a pawn move or capture, not 50 moves in the whole match. 

  • 10 months ago · Quote · #4

    royalbishop

    Edit  " 50 moves in the whole match"

    Correction " 50 moves in the whole game"

    Match at chess.com refers to Team Match or maybe Vote Chess.

  • 10 months ago · Quote · #5

    royalbishop

    I used to hate the 50 move rule for a draw.

    Now i love it consider when i was taught it was the 21 move rule which is more than enough. 50 moves gives me so much time to calculate mate including space for a minor mistake. I find players do not play assertive but play aggressive. Start off the first 10 attacking after that you know what your opponent is going to defend against/not allow. Then go into a positional game and grind it out. The only way to win those tough games like that here.

  • 10 months ago · Quote · #6

    woton

    Judging by your comment about 62 moves having been made, it appears that you do not understand that the rule is 50 moves by each player (there were only 31 in your game).

  • 10 months ago · Quote · #7

    royalbishop

    It is 50 moves from your last pawn capture. By this we mean if at move 20. exf6 then you have until move 70.Ne6  until somebody claims a draw game. It really is tricky if your focused in on a tough game plus add in if you have a bucket load of other games.

  • 10 months ago · Quote · #8

    Ziryab

    50 moves (both players move = 1 move) without a capture or a pawn move. Then you can claim a draw.

    Stalemate is another way to draw, and it does not need to be claimed. The website recognizes that you have no legal moves and are not in check.

  • 10 months ago · Quote · #9

    Estragon

    As others have said:

    The "50 move rule" means when 50 moves have been made in turn by each side without a capture OR a pawn move, either side on move may claim the draw.  "Claiming" here means just hit the draw button, if your claim is correct it automatically grants the draw.

    Same with the "threefold repetition" draw, you must claim the draw.  The ONLY draw which is automatic is stalemate, just as the only automatic win is checkmate.

  • 10 months ago · Quote · #10

    blowerd

    Of course in OTB chess stalemate still has to be claimed.  Just as checkmate has to be claimed. 

  • 10 months ago · Quote · #11

    Ziryab

    doduobird123 wrote:
    blowerd wrote:

    Of course in OTB chess stalemate still has to be claimed.  Just as checkmate has to be claimed. 

    No it doesn't. I've never seen someone in OTB say, "I claim stalemate," or "I claim checkmate."

    Players generally agree that it is stalemate. In youth tournaments, they might erroneously agree. In some events, the arbiter may verify that the game is stalemate.

    None of this resembles the process of claiming a draw.

  • 10 months ago · Quote · #12

    blowerd

    Ziryab wrote:
    doduobird123 wrote:
    blowerd wrote:

    Of course in OTB chess stalemate still has to be claimed.  Just as checkmate has to be claimed. 

    No it doesn't. I've never seen someone in OTB say, "I claim stalemate," or "I claim checkmate."

    Players generally agree that it is stalemate. In youth tournaments, they might erroneously agree. In some events, the arbiter may verify that the game is stalemate.

    None of this resembles the process of claiming a draw.


    But your opponent might not have seen that it is checkmate or stalemate.  And there might not be an arbiter present. 

    I assume that if both players carried on in an OTB game, after a checkmate, that the result would be whatever the result was after the checkmate, and not the original checkmate itself. 

  • 9 months ago · Quote · #13

    Serial_Regicide

    [COMMENT DELETED]
  • 9 months ago · Quote · #14

    Ziryab

    Serial_Regicide wrote:

    I have been playing since I was 14, learned the basic moves and rules when I was seven ... My mom was nuts... and chess = 'class'... something she felt we really needed in life... and the definition of a move is one piece moved by one player, one move by each player constitutes ONE TURN. The stalemate rule is not FIFTY TURNS, but fifty MOVES. Please edify me if I am wrong, and provide references... ok i found it but one hundred individual moves seems totally absurd... although 62 was kinda hilarious too...

    Observe the word "each" as it clarifies your misunderstanding.

    9.3

    The game is drawn, upon a correct claim by the player having the move, if:

     

    a.

    he writes his move on his scoresheet and declares to the arbiter his intention to make this move, which shall result in thelast50 moves having been made by each player without the movement of any pawn and without any capture, or

     

    b.

    the last 50 consecutive moves have been made by each playerwithout the movement of any pawn and without any capture.

    http://www.fide.com/fide/handbook.html?id=124&view=article

  • 9 months ago · Quote · #15

    waffllemaster

    Also, you do claim it otherwise it's incorrect and you risk missing your chance.  I've witnessed two class A players repeat a position 3 times.  (It was one of the last games and there was a small crowd including a TD watching).  One of the players made a move, hit his clock, and said draw looking up at his opponent.  The opponent responded by making another move breaking the repetition... and the game went on.  There was no longer a draw claim to that player's surprise.  That player went on to lose.

    So yes, you can do it the improper way, but you risk this happening.  The proper way is on your turn, stop the clock, and claim a draw.  Not "draw?" but "draw."  Not with your opponent's clock running, but with the clock stopped.  The same with 50 moves, your opponent may make a capture or pawn move on the next move resetting the count if don't do it correctly.

  • 9 months ago · Quote · #16

    Serial_Regicide

    yup, funny how I read that repeatedly and it never registered...Surprised

  • 8 months ago · Quote · #17

    Serial_Regicide

    so in sum, if it were individual player moves it would be 100 moves... wow.


Back to Top

Post your reply: