Forums

Any others with high IQ suck at chess.

Sort:
NawtyByNature

Math no problem, chemistry easy as PI. Chess not so much. I mean, what is the deal? I've been playing for 15 years and suck! My teenager made expert in a two years. Maybe that test was flawed or IQ and chess are not as related as one might think.

NawtyByNature

it's just hard to separate the success i've had in other endeavors and the shortcomings i've had in chess.

Conflagration_Planet

1847 isn't bad.

Da-Nee

Suck is a relative term; I would be ecstatic with an 1800+ rating.  

I used to think that I was intelligent, but my "underperforming" son kicks my butt.  I have decided that it depends on how your mind works-spacial relationships versus linear thinking, etc.  

AlCzervik

Cool video, Anthony. Thanks! Very helpful to someone like me that sucks at chess AND has a low IQ!

AlCzervik

Count, I bet you also have one very strong hand/arm while the other is only used to move chess pieces.

zborg
Count_Rugen wrote:

[COMMENT DELETED]

This quote would be good for any thread throughout the forums.  Laughing

Clearly no mincing of words.  Crisp and to the point.  A great "summing up," indeed.

mjconns
Count_Rugen wrote:

[COMMENT DELETED]

Ha! hahahaha!

The prentious air of this thread was brought to a comedic ending. Thank you. 

George1st

2 years ago I was actually presented with an envelope from former Prime Minister of Australia congratulating me on my involement and placing in Australia's largest ever IQ test. Out of 356,012 people aged between 16-65, I came 19th. Only the top 20 were sent this message -------------->

"On behalf of all Australians, we commend you and your ability"

That was it............lol

And yes, I totally suck at chess, infact, I find it quite difficult to find an opponent that can lose against me...lol

goldendog

...and a full head of hair.

shequan
NawtyByNature wrote: