Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

Begging/scam messages??

Jump to forum:
 
16th September 2008, 01:55am
#1
by CM streetfighter
Edinburgh Scotland
Member Since: Jul 2008
Member Points: 1091

Hi guys,

Does anyone know how to contact STAFF? Tried with no success after receiving this message.

Cheers, Andy Burnett

To: streetfighter
Date: Sep 16, 2008 @ 1:39am
Subject: FROM: MISS BRIGHT WILLIAMS,

FROM: MISS BRIGHT WILLIAMS,
COUNTRY: ABIDJAN, IVORYCOAST
MY E-MAIL  (msbrightws7  @ yahoo.com)
 
DEAREST,

 I GOT YOUR CONTACT INFORMATION THROUGH THIS SITE. AND I DECIDED TO CONTACT YOU,HOPING THAT BY ALMIGHTY GOD GRACE YOU WILL SUCCESSFULLY ASSIST ME OUT FROM MY SITUATION AFTER MY SEVEN GOOD DAYS PRAYERS AND FASTING OVER SEEKING FOR AN OVERSEES GUARDANCE .
I AM MISS BRIGHT WILLIAMS, (23 YEARS OLD) THE ONLY DAUGHTER OF (LATE CHIEF WILLIAMS O. THOMPSON,) WHO WAS A FAMOUS AND WEALTHY COCOA MERCHANT BASED IN ABIDJAN,THE ECONOMIC CAPITAL OF IVORYCOAST. I AM SEEKING FOR YOUR URGENT ATTENTION TO HELP ME TRANSFER THE SUM OF (US$10,000,000.00 )TEN MILLION UNITED STATE OF AMERICAN DOLLARS INTO YOUR NOMINATED BANK ACCOUNT OVERSEAS FOR AN INVESTMENTS PURPOSES,SUCH AS REAL ESTATES MANAGEMENTS AND STOCK MARKERTS. THE FUND WAS DEPOSITED IN FIXED SUSPENCE ACCOUNT
PLEASE ,

I AM WILLING TO OFFER YOU 20% OUT OF THIS MY TOTAL FUND AS YOUR COMMISSION FOR YOUR URGENT ASSISTANCE TO ME.PLEASE KINDLY WRITE IMMEDIATELY FOR MORE IMPORTANT DETAILS CONCERNING THIS MY MUTUAL TRANSACTION. YOURS FAITHFULLY,

MISS BRIGHT WILLIAMS,
NOTE: I HAVE ALL THE NECESSARY DOCUMENTS IN RELATION TO THIS MY FUND DEPOSITED BY MY LATE FATHER IN THE BANK. AND ALSO KINDLY REPLY ME ON THIS MY PRIVATE EMAIL
( MY E-MAIL  (msbrightws7  @  yahoo.com)  FOR CONFIDENTIAL AND SECURITY REASONS OK THANKS.) 


|

16th September 2008, 02:10am
#2
by farbror
Uppsala Sweden
Member Since: May 2007
Member Points: 2762

They respond pretty fast to "Report Abuse" or "Report Bugs" (see below).

16th September 2008, 02:52am
#3
by LoneWolfEburg
Ekaterinburg Russia
Member Since: Jun 2008
Member Points: 312

Nigeria again? Isn't it time for them to switch to a different country? Or are they so unoriginal?

16th September 2008, 03:05am
#4
by excalibur8
England
Member Since: Aug 2007
Member Points: 264

Or they could switch to Australia and be aboriginalSmile

16th September 2008, 06:11am
#5
by CM streetfighter
Edinburgh Scotland
Member Since: Jul 2008
Member Points: 1091

Hehehe excalibur, good one Laughing

Actually, they have moved with this one. Ivory Coast is 4 countries to the west of Nigeria. Don't know how anyone falls for this kind of nonsense, but apparently some people do Money mouth

streetfighter

16th September 2008, 07:28am
#6
by mowque
PA United States
Member Since: Apr 2008
Member Points: 341

Ivory Coast but more well known as Cote D'Ivoire

16th September 2008, 07:33am
#7
by LoneWolfEburg
Ekaterinburg Russia
Member Since: Jun 2008
Member Points: 312

Ah, it's Ivory Coat and Abidjan, not Nigeria and Lagos/Abuja. Silly me. Still, could have moved more far away.

16th September 2008, 07:56am
#8
by reflaxion
New York United States
Member Since: Aug 2008
Member Points: 1443

"I AM SEEKING FOR YOUR URGENT ATTENTION TO HELP ME TRANSFER THE SUM OF (US$10,000,000.00 )TEN MILLION UNITED STATE OF AMERICAN DOLLARS INTO YOUR NOMINATED BANK ACCOUNT OVERSEAS FOR AN INVESTMENTS PURPOSES,SUCH AS REAL ESTATES MANAGEMENTS AND STOCK MARKERTS."

 

I don't know which person in this scenario is really the one being scammed.

16th September 2008, 08:52am
#9
by Baseballfan
Durham, North Carolina United States
Member Since: Feb 2008
Member Points: 1872

Farbor is correct. The "Report Abuse" link on the bottom of every page is the best way to report these. These have no place on Chess.com, and these will always be dealt with.

16th September 2008, 10:15am
#10
by Olimar
United States
Member Since: Jun 2008
Member Points: 525

lol thats really funny.  You should respond and give them a random person's banking account number. haha

16th September 2008, 11:30am
#11
by Duffer1965
New York, New York United States
Member Since: Mar 2008
Member Points: 475

Olimar wrote:

lol thats really funny.  You should respond and give them a random person's banking account number. haha


 

I generally consider myself to have a pretty good sense of humor. I don't see anything funny in this scam -- it's an attempted crime by the way -- or your suggested response, which might also be a crime.

16th September 2008, 06:22pm
#12
by AWARDCHESS
Los Angeles United States
Member Since: May 2008
Member Points: 45380

On Wed, Sep 10, 2008 at 12:32 PM, Juliet Yahaya <maldaline_jane@yahoo.co.in> wrote:


My name is Miss maldaline jane yahaya. I saw your profile today at www.chess.com and become interested in you. My Age is 24 years. height ft 5/6. wt 69 . i am the only daughter of Late Dr Fidelis Yahaya from Ivory coast in West Africa, who died during the war in my country last two years (2006). My father was the personal adviser to our former head of state .  ( LATE GEN ROBERT GUEI) he is the owner of Yahaya Cocoa industries (LTD) before he was assasinated along side with my mother on a cold blood one morning. But i managed to escape for my dear life and ran into a neighbouring country,(Dakar) the capital of (Senegal) and i am reciding there now as a refugee in the refugee camp.(SOCIETY DU REFUGEE TAMACOUNDA DAKAR SENEGAL). 

Meanwhile,I am writting to you now in at Reverend's computer and will like to know you more before we move forward from here!. I will like to know what you do for a living,remember that you caught my attention in that site that was why i wrote you at the first time.Here is my picture i came here with,i will show you more of me when i know and see yours. I will like to know your real name, your country and what you do for living and your age. I have a confidential something i will like to share with you if only you will be sincere with me.

Awaiting for your reply soonest! from my heart 
Maldaline jane Yahaya.


16th September 2008, 06:24pm
#13
by AWARDCHESS
Los Angeles United States
Member Since: May 2008
Member Points: 45380

Who can help me to spend my future money? 

By the way, just pay for transfer!..

16th September 2008, 07:14pm
#14
by gumpty
congleton England
Member Since: Apr 2008
Member Points: 7667
the sad fact is though, for every 50 people that find this funny, 1 will give them money!
16th September 2008, 08:41pm
#15
by AWARDCHESS
Los Angeles United States
Member Since: May 2008
Member Points: 45380

The peoples are desperate for  'free  money'!

16th September 2008, 09:00pm
#16
by agentofchaos
Sydney Australia
Member Since: Mar 2008
Member Points: 258

On another site I'm on, someone contacted me claiming to be in love with me after reading my profile, even though it had no photo and very little information about me! These types of scams abound.

16th September 2008, 09:22pm
#17
by fluffy_rabbit
Denmark
Member Since: Sep 2007
Member Points: 214

agentofchaos wrote:

On another site I'm on, someone contacted me claiming to be in love with me after reading my profile, even though it had no photo and very little information about me! These types of scams abound.


 Why do all women go for Chaos and not rabbits... Life is so unfair Cry

16th September 2008, 11:07pm
#18
by JediMaster
Brookings SD United States
Member Since: Jul 2007
Member Points: 471

Go to the bottom of your screen and use the contact.  I have used it many times and I usually have a response within 24 hours.

16th September 2008, 11:51pm
#19
by fzweb
My home Australia
Member Since: Dec 2007
Member Points: 1140

Right, atrocious grammar, first scam letter looks like idiot is shouting, both letters say their height for some dumb reason. Asking for your name, address, age in an email. Such sadists.

17th September 2008, 12:46am
#20
by excalibur8
England
Member Since: Aug 2007
Member Points: 264

fzweb wrote:

Right, atrocious grammar, first scam letter looks like idiot is shouting, both letters say their height for some dumb reason. Asking for your name, address, age in an email. Such sadists.


 By the way, what is it?

 

Add your comment:

Join Chess.com for free to add your comment! Already a member? Then login now to comment.