11693 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Backgammon, Yatzy, and more!
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
I'm not fully acquianted with all the rules of chess but whenever a pawn becomes available for promotion on a light square can it be promoted to a dark squared bishop or only a light squared bishop?
Its color is dictated by the color of the square it promotes on, I believe
@OP: The Pawn turns into a Bishop immediately upon entering the promotion square, and at that point the Bishop is committed to being either a light- or dark-square Bishop, depending on the color of the promotion square.
The bishop is the only piece that can't change color?! NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! haha...thanks!
Easily resolved - just capture something, you will then promote on a dark square!
No peices can change colour, however all but the bishop can use both colours of square.
Why promote a pawn to a bishop, when a Queen does everything a bishop does and more? The only piece you'd ever want to underpromote to is a knight, and that's a rare occasion.
To avoid a stalemate, and no a knight isn't the only piece.
For example if you have a knight and pawn, and promoting to a heavy piece would give stalemate you need to promote to a bishop.
Having once reached this position, my opponent said he wanted to practice his two bishop checkmate technique!
What did you say? I wouldn't have been able to help myself: "Remember, you've only got 50 moves"
@Scottrf: That's a great example! I always have difficulty thinking of a realistic example necessitating a Bishop underpromotion.
Promoting to a Rook is more obvious:
@OP: One cannot promote to a Pawn, because the status of the unit would remain unchanged, and hence wouldn't be a promotion. The official rules state that a Pawn that reaches the eighth rank cannot remain a Pawn. It would be useless anyway if it did, except as a horizontal blockade, but any promoted piece can serve the same blockading purpose.
Also r.e. underpromotion to rook is the Saavendra position (quite a few with the same idea in TT).
That's an interesting position Scott, thx for that one.
I have never in my life had to underpromote. Just sayin'.
Underpromotion to a Bishop is confined to studies, I think. I can't recall any game where it was the best move.
I've underpromoted to Knight a number of times, the simplest case of a sac followed by promoting to a fork every time, and to a Rook to avoid stalemate at least a couple of times.
There is a practical instance where promoting to Bishop can be useful: Say the promote square is covered by an enemy piece, you might want to hope that they don't just sac a piece for the pawn if you promote to a Queen, but rather give you a light or dark square grip (obviously depending on the colour of the promoted Bishop) by ignoring the Bishop.
Most of the time you would rather they just sac the piece however :/
Best excuse for losing
by egoole 4 minutes ago
The Comparision between Open Sicillians Najdorf Vs Dragon Vs Classical.
by Vibhav_G 6 minutes ago
Idea for Tactics Trainer
by Vibhav_G 8 minutes ago
2015 CHESS NEW YEARS RESOLUTIONS OR GOALS
by DENVERHIGH 13 minutes ago
Keep getting paired with blocked player
by fiercey13 16 minutes ago
Post your sets!
by Black_Knight_Tango 16 minutes ago
10/3/2015 - D Bronstein - V Kortchnoi, Leningrad 1962
by pa_kamini 20 minutes ago
Epic zugszwang from one of my games
by PositionalChessMC 21 minutes ago
My opening: The wayward/accelerated pawn opening, Owen defense, Reti Transpose
by TheGhostofMorphy 28 minutes ago
Soviet Cheating in FIDE Competition: Keres-Botvinnik, 1948, Pt 3
by SmyslovFan 30 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2015 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!