Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

Black on the "Right"


  • 22 months ago · Quote · #1

    kco

    Why can't I start with the black sq on the right and have the black pieces take placed of the white pieces instead ? will I get into trouble in the tourney ? 
      What happen if half way of the game you notice that you had set up the board 'the wrong way round' do you continue or what ? 

  • 22 months ago · Quote · #2

    goldendog

    Black still has a white square on the right.

    You playing rotate-a-roo chess down under?

  • 22 months ago · Quote · #3

    kco

    yeah especially coming from down under lol.

  • 22 months ago · Quote · #4

    kco

    no, I mean rotate the board so you have the black sq on the right and setup with the black pieces taking over the white pieces instead.

  • 22 months ago · Quote · #5

    kco

     don't think I can do it with the image set up, can anyone help ?

  • 22 months ago · Quote · #6

    goldendog

    So you just want an image of such a set up?

  • 22 months ago · Quote · #7

    kco

    yes please, that would be great. 

  • 22 months ago · Quote · #8

    goldendog

    Ha ha...don't even know if I can Smile.

  • 22 months ago · Quote · #9

    waffllemaster

    kco wrote:

    Why can't I start with the black sq on the right and have the black pieces take placed of the white pieces instead ? will I get into trouble in the tourney ? 
      What happen if half way of the game you notice that you had set up the board 'the wrong way round' do you continue or what ? 

    Heh, yeah, one time at a club we set it up with black on bottom right... doh.

    I suggested that because black had white's setup that black just move first and it's a normal game.  He said that would be too confusing so we turned the board and set it up correctly.

  • 22 months ago · Quote · #10

    kco

    yeah is it pretty normal, but I see 3 problem so far... folded board will look awful with the cut in the middle in between the players.... the existing notation on the board will look wrong and it well be confusing for newspaper, books etc for everyone to read.

  • 22 months ago · Quote · #11

    DrSpudnik

    Here is the USCF rule

    "11G: Incorrect placement of the chess board. If, during a game, it is found that the board has been placed contrary to 3C, Initial position, which requires a white square in the nearer corner to the right of each player, then the position reached shall be transferred to a board correctly placed and the game continued."

  • 22 months ago · Quote · #12

    kco

    "transferred" ! why not just keep on playing ? as long you write down the move correctly is shouldn't be a problem.

  • 22 months ago · Quote · #13

    DrSpudnik

    I guess they're pretty serious about this white/black stuff. It can be a bit disorienting, actually. Anyhow, what's really interesting is if the players started with the pieces set up "correctly" on an incorrect board, with the Kings on the wrong side of the board. To set up the position correctly, you'd have to set up a mirror-image of the actual position, which would be even more prone to error, unless you set up the position from going over the scoresheet.

  • 22 months ago · Quote · #14

    waffllemaster

    DrSpudnik wrote:

    I guess they're pretty serious about this white/black stuff. It can be a bit disorienting, actually. Anyhow, what's really interesting is if the players started with the pieces set up "correctly" on an incorrect board, with the Kings on the wrong side of the board. To set up the position correctly, you'd have to set up a mirror-image of the actual position, which would be even more prone to error, unless you set up the position from going over the scoresheet.

    Yes.  So when you castled to your left, now you'd find your king on your right.  Unless they also made the mistake of putting the queen not on her color hah.

    Yeah, I'd say just let them continue playing.

  • 22 months ago · Quote · #15

    HessianWarrior

    I say make all the squares white with thin black lines to define the squares. Then it won't matter which way the board is set, plus an added bonus is that you can push a Bishop one square left or right or up and down to your advantage when your opponent isn't looking as there are only white Bishops any way.

  • 22 months ago · Quote · #16

    DrSpudnik

    If the game is not 10 moves old, you can just make them start over.

  • 22 months ago · Quote · #17

    cabadenwurt

    This is quite a fun thread Kco. Recently there have been several threads started here in regards to Chess rules that could possibly be changed. I've gone ahead and started a thread on that subject as well ( Revolution in the Chess world  Hmmmm ).

  • 22 months ago · Quote · #18

    DrSpudnik

    This famous example would fix all color problems:

  • 22 months ago · Quote · #19

    kco

    HessianWarrior wrote:

    I say make all the squares white with thin black lines to define the squares. Then it won't matter which way the board is set, plus an added bonus is that you can push a Bishop one square left or right or up and down to your advantage when your opponent isn't looking as there are only white Bishops any way.

    yeah I was thinking that earlier then we don't have to worry about the beautiful language of saying 'dark or light square Bishop", surely is would have started that way when chess was invented before the checkers board pattern came out later ? 

  • 22 months ago · Quote · #20

    ILBCNU

    I thought the crease in the board was for crowning it for runoff in heavy rains. Didn't work too good with my cardboard set, though.


Back to Top

Post your reply: