Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

Can ANYONE reach say 2000

• 3 years ago · Quote · #1

gotgot

Hello,

i have a question, sorry if it has been asked already, i can't find it..

Can even adults with no special skills for chess reach 2000 with some work, or is it 'either you have it "inside you", and with some work it'll come, or you don't have it and forget about it"

i started playing chess late (at around 20y.old), just for fun on the internet, i quickly reached about 1700 and i'm now 25 but never improved and i'm still 1700..

now i'm willing to spend more time and work and play in real life tournament to finally reach 2000... if that's possible.

• 3 years ago · Quote · #2

fleiman

I believe that with training anyone can get to 2000

• 3 years ago · Quote · #4

Titos75

Agreed! Everyone can reach 2000, though for some it comes quicker than for others.

As for myself, 2000 is my goal for next year. I'll reach 1850 OTB in the next rating list. The problem is, I think my game has improved greatly over the last year, but it does not yet come out in my tournament play.

• 3 years ago · Quote · #5

Artsew

Titos75 wrote:

Agreed! Everyone can reach 2000, though for some it comes quicker than for others.

As for myself, 2000 is my goal for next year. I'll reach 1850 OTB in the next rating list. The problem is, I think my game has improved greatly over the last year, but it does not yet come out in my tournament play.

You probably still need to adjust your play to would you've learned.

I have encountered the same problem, even dropped before going up.

• 3 years ago · Quote · #6

Titos75

Artsew wrote:
    Titos75 wrote:

You probably still need to adjust your play to would you've learned.

I have encountered the same problem, even dropped before going up.

I know, but I play better in my games, though not consistent enough. In my experience as a chess teacher, I think it takes (young) chess players about 3 months to apply what they have learned in their games.