Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

castling in later turns


  • 9 months ago · Quote · #1

    FancyShoes

    Lets say you are on turn 9, would I still want to get to a castle as soon as I can even if it means not deploying other pieces. here is a example. this is from a game I am curently playing, so please dont give any advice on what I should do. I just want to know what you all say about castleing this late.

     

     

    Thanks.

  • 9 months ago · Quote · #2

    dashkee94

    "Castle if you must or you want to, but never just because you can."  H.N. Pillsbury

  • 9 months ago · Quote · #3

    notmtwain

    I was curious to see how you worked this situation out.  Although it was certainly a bad choice in this situation, I hope you haven't given up on "late castling".

  • 9 months ago · Quote · #4

    N2UHC

    I don't want to be a butt, but you shouldn't discuss games in progress on the forums, even if you're not asking for advice.

  • 9 months ago · Quote · #5

    notmtwain

    N2UHC wrote:

    I don't want to be a butt, but you shouldn't discuss games in progress on the forums, even if you're not asking for advice.

    The game is over.

  • 9 months ago · Quote · #6

    N2UHC

    notmtwain wrote:

    The game is over.

    "this is from a game I am curently playing, so please dont give any advice on what I should do."

  • 9 months ago · Quote · #7

    MrEdCollins

    dashkee94 wrote:

    "Castle if you must or you want to, but never just because you can."  H.N. Pillsbury

    Nice.  You beat me to it.

  • 9 months ago · Quote · #8

    jargonaught

    Just resign

  • 9 months ago · Quote · #9

    notmtwain

    N2UHC wrote:
    notmtwain wrote:

    The game is over.

    "this is from a game I am curently playing, so please dont give any advice on what I should do."

    It wasn't over when he first posted but it was over when I posted earlier today.  

    So you could safely answer his question of whether or not he should consider castling on turn 9, which he considered late.

    As I said, I don't think it was particularly late in the game. It was just bad because it left the knight fork open, losing the exhange. And then one move later he dropped his queen.

    I would hate to see him make a general rule, "Never castle later than move 8 because of this one game." 

     

    [Event "Let's Play!"]

    [Site "Chess.com"]

    [Date "2013.12.21"]

    [White "saihtamnuurb"]

    [Black "FancyShoes"]

    [Result "0-1"]

    [WhiteElo "1327"]

    [BlackElo "1289"]

    [TimeControl "1 in 3 days"]

    [Termination "FancyShoes won by resignation"]

     

    1.e4 d6 2.f4 c6 3.Nf3 Nf6 4.Nc3 b5 5.d4 b4 6.Ne2 Nxe4 7.Qd3 f5 8.b3 e6 9.Bb2 Be7 10.O-O-O Nf2

     11.Qc4 d5 0-1


Back to Top

Post your reply: