Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

Castling rules


  • 4 years ago · Quote · #1

    lecycliste

    Sorry if dumb question

    Is black allowed to castle on move 13, while my bishop is threatening through the castle?  This is from Live Chess.  I thought it wasn't allowed, but must be wrong.   Thanks.

     

     

     

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #2

    Silfir

    Yes, since it doesn't matter if the rook jumps over a threatened square. It only matters if the king does it. The king must not castle in, out or over check. No one cares about the rook.

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #3

    Mikhael72

    Yes, you are not threatening the king, since no check and you don't attack c8 or d8, only squares by which the king passes.

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #4

    mrAndersson

    Yes black can castle if he wants, it is only the king that can't move through attacked squares and since the king doesn't move through the square b8 castling is legal.

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #5

    Chessgod123

    The King is the only piece during Castling which may not move through an attacked square; the Rook may safely move through this square, as long as the King does not land up on or pass through an attacked square.

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #6

    Guolin

    Nice Queen's Boden mate though. Black's castling obviously worked in your favor.

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #7

    lecycliste

    thank everyone for responses ... I learned something ;)

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #8

    Guolin

    lecycliste wrote:

    thank everyone for responses ... I learned something ;)


     That's the whole point of Chess.com, isn't? :)

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #9

    lecycliste

    Guolin wrote:
    lecycliste wrote:

    thank everyone for responses ... I learned something ;)


     That's the whole point of Chess.com, isn't? :)


    indeed .... and this is a great place for that


Back to Top

Post your reply: