Forums

Chess S.O.S.

Sort:
Dark_Sage

I am a 17 year old chess enthusiast who is having a lot of trouble getting better. My parents have never supported chess and them saying chess is stupid and will get me nowhere in life I feel is limiting my success. I am self taught and I believe I am an ok player. I am having trouble with positional play and being able to analyze a position and calculating what the best move is. I have a few resources such as CHESSMASTER 10th Edition and 4 books but it is still hard for me to improve. I would like to know what would be a good way for me to actively study chess to improve my game. For example, studying tactics for an hour and studying endgame for an hour each day. Please give me some ideas about how I can go about this.

Thank you,

Jacob_W

Chess_Enigma

Studying tactics is a good idea. Honestly just studying chess will help you improve. May I ask what books you have?

Dark_Sage

I have Mastering the Chess Openings Volume 1, Pandolfini's Ultimate Guide to Chess, The Complete Book of Chess Strategy (Grandmaster Techniques from A to Z), and Starting Out: The Sicilian.

Chess_Enigma

Those are good books. For tactics 1001 Brilliant Ways to Checkmate is a great book (and cheap). I can speak personally that it really helped my play.

Make sure you don't get to caught up in opening study though, it only becomes critical at 2000+.

TwistedLogic

Not sure if can order these books in US, but these books helped me a lot:

- School of Chess Excellence 3 Strategic Play, M. Dvoretsky. Most books by M. Dvoretsky are good, but some are really complicated.

- The classic: My System 21st Century Edition, A. Nimzowitch

- Understanding Chess move by move, John Nunn. This book does exactly was the title says. A GM telling you what is going on in a clear and understandable way. Personally i liked this book very much because he explained everything so clear.

- Winning chess middle games , Ivan Sokolov.