Forums

Chess TD software?

Sort:
WhereDoesTheHorseGo

What software do you like to use as a TD? Or, do you know which software tournament directors like to use? Any good free stuff out there?

emmett4077

I would assume any spreadsheet software would work fine, would it not?

Martin_Stahl

The standard, in the US (from what I can tell), is WinTD and it works pretty well. Some people use SwissSys, though I have no experience with it.

I have used Vega successfully in the past and if I didn't have a copy of WinTD I would use it for most of my tournaments. It is free for use on Linux and free for tournaments of less than 30 players on Windows. There was at least one bug in the version I used, when it came to generating tournment reports but if you are at all technical it isn't that hard to get it to work.

There are probably some other good ones but I only tested a few of the open source programs. Vega was the only one I really liked at the time (though it isn't really open source). I'm actually suprised there isn't a better open source pairing program out there; seems like there would be a pretty good overlap with chess players and decent programmers :D

Martin_Stahl
emmett4077 wrote:

You could certainly keep track of your rounds that way. If you are good with the pairing rules then you can probably manually create pairing sheets that way too.

Though, pairing programs are much faster and provide you with a way to generate the rating reports you need to submit the tournament to the USCF (in the case of the US).

emmett4077
Martin_Stahl wrote:
emmett4077 wrote:

You could certainly keep track of your rounds that way. If you are good with the pairing rules then you can probably manually create pairing sheets that way too.

Though, pairing programs are much faster and provide you with a way to generate the rating reports you need to submit the tournament to the USCF (in the case of the US).

Thanks. Looks like my poor spreadsheets need to be retired.

Andre_Harding