10722 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
I've offered my opponent a draw, and am waiting for his response. I noticed that my clock continues to count down (on line chess). What happens if he doesn't respond in the alloted time (3 days)? Is it counted as my loss?
you still have to move you offer the draw on your opponents turn
Be careful, your opponent might be a cowboy with a gun!
I believe a draw offer has to accompanied by a move by you. If you just offered the draw without moving, you might be heading for a time-forfeit
Glad I asked, I thought the draw offer was my move. Caught it in time
good luck to you
Is that actually a rule? I once OTB offered a draw to my opponent on my turn (I thought it was a drawn position so thought it was fair enough to offer the draw.) I thought the only thing was that your opponent could request that you made your move before accepting or rejecting the draw, but I certainly know of no rule saying you HAVE to make your move first and then make the draw offer.
In any case my opponent didn't request that I made my move first, we just agreed a draw as we agreed that the game was going nowhere.
Draws – If you want to offer a draw to your opponent, you should do so after you make a move but before
you start your opponent’s clock. Your opponent may decline the draw by saying so or by moving a piece. A
draw offer is valid until it is turned down by the opponent. If both players agree to a draw, then the game is over
regardless of previous checkmate, stalemate or illegal positions.
what time controls are better for the following
by Threebeast a few minutes ago
Only 1 simultaneous game in Live Chess now? Are you kidding me??
by skakmadurinn a few minutes ago
6/18/2013 - Tal-Starodub, Petrozavodsk 1984
by Jonesateer a few minutes ago
Who is the best chess player of all time?
by bladezii 5 minutes ago
Is it true that you should not exchange pieces when your down in material?
by LongIslandMark 6 minutes ago
FM Borislav Ivanov Disqualified
by RandyRhoads 8 minutes ago
My swell chess set
by NimzoRoy 9 minutes ago
My debut game
by Svekke 11 minutes ago
by azh2012 11 minutes ago
Scotch Gambit novelty.
by RigasUT 12 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2013 Chess.com